A4 Avant (Spacers and towing!)

barkclark

Reaction score
After reading many threads I'm still stumped, mainly cause I'm new to Audi's!

My alloys are standard 17" 7.5j ET45, 235x45 tyres (I may change these as they look a bit 'bulgy') running the sport suspension. I was wanting to improve the look by spacing out the wheels a little!

I do tow regularly, a small trailer tent that weights about 450kg, so that will at a guess pull the back down anything from about 15-30mm. I'll be doing the B5 perches mod at the front.

Does anyone know if I use spacers I'll have rubbing issues? Also what should I go for? 10mm all round?

Sorry for all the questions haha.

i tow a caravan with mine about 1200kg, and although dont have spacers my wheels are et35 i believe as they stick out further than the originals did by 10mm. i dont get any scraping even with 5 people in the car aswell so 10mm spacers should be ok. Mine is the standard sport suspension set up aswell. Hope this helps

i tow a caravan with mine about 1200kg, and although dont have spacers my wheels are et35 i believe as they stick out further than the originals did by 10mm. i dont get any scraping even with 5 people in the car aswell so 10mm spacers should be ok. Mine is the standard sport suspension set up aswell. Hope this helps

Cheers man that helps me out greatly!!

Now to my next question to anyone who can answer, do I need to space the same all round or can I go a little wider at the back? I've heard it can cause some imbalance of the car?

I've never heard that, I don't see why you can't go a bit wider at the back.

What tyres look good on 17" 7.5j? As I said mine are 235/45 and look like they bulge out a bit.

I have et28 wheels with no spacers and the front wheels do poke out a fraction and the back sits in a couple of mm, so the these cars do seem to be a little wider at the front.