A6 2.0 S Line Ultra TDI Black edition - Newbie question ?

wisp13

Reaction score
Hi Folks

Newbie here, and 1st post so hope you'll be gentle.................Recently picked up my ( 9 month old ) 2L A6 S line Ultra TDI Black edition Auto with 7k on the clock, and I'm delighted with it, lots of toys and drives really nice, but need to pick your brains. I'm covering mostly motorway miles ( 1,500 in 1st month of ownership ), and although I'm driving like Miss Dairy at around constant 65mph, I'm only getting 44mpg - I've checked brim to brim, and the numbers are correct. Is this about right for this car, as I'm quite disappointed by the low mpg return as to what I expected to get. I'm just out a 3 year old BMW 520d M sport Auto, and was enjoying easily 56mpg on average on exactly the same journey, so the A6 is returning 12 mpg less ( - 20% or so ). In your experience, does this sound "normal" for this car ? I've tried it on both comfort & also Auto mode in settings,and there's very little difference on the mileage.

Is this MPG about right, or is there possibly an issue I should be aware of ?

Hope to hear from you guys soon......and thanks !

welcome - 44 mpg does seem a little low, the motorway miles are they in the rush hour?, if crawling along then it will be about right,if averaging 65 mph then it is low.

Mine is the same engine, manual compared to your auto, which does have a lower mpg quoted by Audi - on the trip home from the dealership averaging 55mph I got 55mpg in a new engine over the 255 mile journey.

welcome - 44 mpg does seem a little low, the motorway miles are they in the rush hour?, if crawling along then it will be about right,if averaging 65 mph then it is low.

Mine is the same engine, manual compared to your auto, which does have a lower mpg quoted by Audi - on the trip home from the dealership averaging 55mph I got 55mpg in a new engine over the 255 mile journey.