A8 - First time buy, advice wanted!!

Shonky

Reaction score
Hello guys,

First post on the forum, so hello to everybody.

I need some advice on buying an first generation, pre-facelift A8.

I work as a car designer and have always had trouble choosing the right car, mainly due to the styling of the car or the image the car portrays.

I'm looking for an A8 for the commute to work and maybe the odd weekend trip. Not a massive amount of miles per year, perhaps 10,000 - 15,000.

I don't have a great deal of money to spend, £4000 is my limit, but it still looks like I can get a lot of car for the money.

I'm looking at '96 / '97 90k-100k 2.8 V6 quattro's. Maybe a sport? Before everyone says 'get a 4.2 V8, or get an S8!' I can't afford it!

So that's the car I want. Am I mad looking at one with high miles and that cheap? What problems am I looking for on a car that age? - quattro problems, engine/gearbox, etc?

I really want a decent car, high miles or not, which won't give me any trouble. I'd be really grateful of your advice.

I've read with interest the previous posts from owners of A8 and S8's of different age, spec, power, etc. but they don't seem to consider cars for less money for first time buyers.

Plus, if, and only and if, I got the V8, has anybody attempted a conversion to LPG?? If so, does anyone know of a reputable company to do the work? Only then will I consider the 4.2 V8!!

Cheers guys,

Let me know.

Alex.

this is the most reputable company i have come across

http://www.autogas4u.com/

the guy is old school quality above cheap badly done job, gave me an initial quote of 1500 to do my fathers jag, still have to follow it up, he has done v10 motorhome before audi a8 v8 wont be a problem, he has done hydrualic suspension conversion on my weekend car buick and i can't fault his work, he wont let it leave unless it is done right.

Hi Shonky