AMD/Revo/MTM/Forge?

johnmv55

Reaction score
It's fast approaching time I "upped" my 2.0T, so, Revo at £570, Amd at £700, and MTM at £750 + vat and also Forge?, Revo sound good with the handheld "back to std for the dealer visit gadget" (if next week ever comes) MTM sounds expensive, AmD will be OK,
Who's got what and who recommends which???

I've had Revo in the past so would hartily recommend them but gave up waiting for them to sort their 2.0T map and eventually got Forge to do mine. Goes like stink, the map is very smooth delivery and no loss of stock OEM feel. Cant fault it or Forge's service.

Give Richard Washbrook @ Forge a call, top chap.

Can only speak for AmD as I have no experience with the others. I love the map on my 3.2, have had 0 map-related problems, smooth and agressive...

[ QUOTE ]
Revo programmers for the 2.0T and Tdi are being released to the dealers next week.

[/ QUOTE ] How does that work?

Correct me if I am wrong here but the Revo system will be available next week, it is downloaded to the ECU via the diagnostics port (obd2) by any of Revo's dealers, available later will be a handheld device you can use to switch the programme back to std for the "dealer" visit, I'm probably heading the revo way for that reason alone, I know dealers are getting better with chipped cars etc, but I would hate to take one back with an engine/drivetrain problem once the dealer knows it's not standard

What are the risks of getting the car 'chipped'? Also if it is that easy to switch back, why declare it to the Insurance company? I know in a right off you may not be able to flash it back, but would they check the ECU?

More power has to be more wear and tear/ a shorter engine life, maybe the difference between 200,000 and 170,000 chipped? who knows?It won't bother me though! it'll be long gone by then, and also more load on parts in the drivetrain.