Any plumbers on the forum?

TDI

Reaction score

New shower fitted but water pulses in mixer mode (rather than cold or hot only), and pressure is low. However if I turn on the second shower and leave the first one running it stops pulsing, but pressure is still low.

Is the a problem with the system or do I replace the shower pump?

Cheers /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/frown.gif

I think TDI-Line is a plumber. I'm sure he'l be along soon.

DickyS3,

Thanks for the reply. I hope someone can point me in the right direction as I already called a few plumbers who never turned up /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/confused.gif

some questions first buddy. ( im a plumber by the way)
make and model of shower ?
electric or mixer ? ( mixer i presume)
type of boiler ( combi or do you have a hot water cylinder?)
does the shower have a pump or is it gravity fed ?
does it pulse when temp is set to cold ?
does it pulse when temp is set to hot ?
when you set temp in middle(hot and cold) does it pulse and what temp is the water, scolding hot or tepid ?

also, when you say the other shower is turned on, do you mean another shower fed by the same pump and cold feed in the same room or are we talking about another part of the house with different feeds...???
is it a new installation or are you replacing an old mixer unit that worked fine with the old pipework and pump etc....

could be a couple of things, and without looking the only way i can help is to ask you a shed load of daft questions mate....

could be something simple like the thermostat setting in the new mixer unit, these are adjustable....

answer these questions and ill let you know.... /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/beerchug.gif

also, when running on either just cold or just hot.... whats the pressure like ????
and whats the pressure like on the other shower when new one is off ???
whats the pressure like on your taps ??