Audi still cheating?

I work in the Auto industry including having worked for a VWG Brand, and I preface this with I don't condone anything.

Any publicly traded company is going to do just enough to meet legislative requirements of it. The EU says a car must pass emissions tests to a certain level (EU5, EU6 etc.) on a rolling road, manufacturers pass this. They can't call a test for comparitive performance and may perform differently in real world useage and then complain that they perform differently in real world useage.

Buses and lorries produce far more **** and are far more deterimental to public health but no ones crying about them giving kids asthma.

Reactions: richinsoton, RSS-S3, Daytonapig and 3 others
And I read recently that inspectors are going into the Vauxhall factory again as they are not satisfied they are acting quickly enough to deal with Zafiras and Corsas which allegedly burst into flames. I sometimes think there are groups out there that just don't like the car industry. :gun2:

Diesel's days are numbered.

These scandals and the planned banning in major cities will probably see sales drop considerably over the next few years.

Reactions: RSS-S3 and Audi Bairn
Diesel's days are numbered.

These scandals and the planned banning in major cities will probably see sales drop considerably over the next few years.
Presumably the ban in cities will also include all buses, coaches, vans and lorries, nearly all of which use diesel engines. A much more intelligent approach would be to use the German model which only allow vehicles that meet the latest EU6 standard to got into large towns and cities.