Best diy/enthusiast scanner recommendations?

RB55

Reaction score
Hi everyone ,I am the proud owner of an A4/Avant/B8 8k/2008/CDN0044 with a cool 130k on the clock... 2.0 TFSI....
I am a enthusiast diy car mechanic and fixed etc all my previous cars .I realised (AFTER buying it) that this car and particular engine will probably be a project in more ways than I wanted .. Still I am willing to give it a go as it was cheap-ish and looks really good (black S-line).
This will probably be the start of a long line of questions :((
Is there a dyi /medium level scanner you would recommend to be able to accurate read codes and code in new parts?
Thx!

Obd11 and your Carista is your cheap and cheerful. Obd11 can do some coding although the labels are questionable.
vcds is the tool to have but not cheap.

Another consideration might be - do you want/need a mobile phone based system or a laptop based system?