Brilliant Black MY12 S3 - smears after waxing?

batch

Reaction score
Morning everyone!
I finally gave my car a decent clean yesterday, a bit overdue but the good weather brought out the petrolhead in me! Started by giving it a good clean with Meguiar's Gold Class shampoo, then went on to using Meguiar's cleaner wax (a fine polish) whilst the other half sealed the wheels using Poorboys and Meguiar's tyre gel. All fine so far; the cleaner wax definitely helped with swirls and water marks. With all this done, I then broke out my new bottle of Meguiar's Ultimate Liquid Wax, and applied a thin film over the entire car. It went on like a dream I have to say!
However when I came to polish it off, I really struggled on the roof and bonnet, and on the bonnet in particular I'm left with darker black smears on the surface. I'm no expert, but my theory is that I've a) Used too much on the large panels, b) the bonnet and roof were hot and this affected them, and c) as it was about 8pm, the cooling air has affected it too? I tried spray wax as I buffed to soften anything up but no luck. So, firstly, is this permanent damage or just excess residue, secondly, what does cause this, and thirdly can I get rid of it without loads of work? The patterns are only visible from certain angles; the rest of the car looks stunning!

Perhaps Juicy Jen can help me?!

P.S I know Meguiar's isn't everyone's cup of tea but I've always used it and I am not hugely anal about my cleaning/detailing!

Sorry you've not had any replies. Based on what you have said I would say a) and b) are most likely. I've only ever had trouble with waxes when they've been on too thick or on hot panels. Option c) the 8pm angle is only really a problem towards the start and the end of the year. This is when the dew point in the air comes into play and the wax won't cure properly or takes ages to cure. At this time of year you should be fine.