C5 RS6 (BCY) Engine - Shooting For A Conservative 700hp / Stage 3.

Nollywood

B7 420-R Avant
Reaction score
G'day ladies and gents!

I apologise for posting a query that must have been thrashed out in past threads. I'm not new to Audi's in general. However, I'm new to the C5, particularly the RS6. I wouldn't even know what to search for.

As some folk here may know, I'm building a B6 Avant Quattro, with genuine B7 RS4 panels, but retaining the very essence of the B6 - the tail, nose and the swage lines, running from the front to the back. But, back to my reasons for this thread...

The heart of this creation is a C5 RS6 (BCY) motor. I am tearing it down, and rebuilding it, retaining just the oil pump. I am using the crank out of a 2002 C5 S6, (ANK) which gives more flywheel options, due to its 8-bolt fitment. It seems a waste to start off with a built motor, and not go to stage 3. This is where you knowledgeable C5 guys come in.

What turbos would I need to go stage 3? I will not be running the original RS6 exhaust manifolds, with their low-slung, rear-mounted snails. My manifolds will locate both turbos above the frame rails, for ease of replacement, and close proximity to the frames, and transmission (01E 6-speed).

Camshaft? I'm aware the lumpy sticks in a C5 4.2 V8 have more lift, and duration (not S6). Are these a better option?

I would really appreciate some direction here.

For reference, here's my build thread: http://www.audi-sport.net/xf/threads/project-b6-420-ts-avant.319027/

Thanks in advance for your valuable help.

You can use some hybrid turbochargers based loosely on the rs6 blowers(get in touch with Adam at tditurbos) but I would use something more modern: borg warner EFR series...I am sure you can get them to fit if you relocate the turbos... failing that some Holset small/medium frame will probably flow enough to see your power target ! Interesting project and good luck with it !!!