Help Please Engine starts then dies immediately

Harry42203

Reaction score
I've just finished putting a new timing belt on my 2.0TDi CAGA engine in my 2011 A4 Avant the engine will now turn over start and then die instantly.

The timing appears to be correct as when I have the crank indexing tool installed and aligned the cam indexer can easily be installed as can the HPFP indexing pin.

The tension appears to be correct as the needle is almost touching the right hand side of the gap.

I was worried that maybe it wanted a some sensors reconnected so I fully reassembled the front end connected every loose connector, and have since torn it back down as far as I needed to, to quadruple check my timing marks were correct.

I've tried replacing the battery in the key.

I've checked for codes and all I got was old codes from 2k+ km ago and a lot of codes about my battery dying.

I have charged the battery.

This is the first timing belt I've done and I'm not a mechanic does anyone have any ideas of what I can try?

This is what it does

IMG 20220329 WA0011

IMG 20220329 WA0010

Reactions: audiwaterpump
Just like to say, great effort to diy your cambelt. Top marks.
Replace the battery if it is low. Poor battery causes all sorts of unrelated issues. And you need to code it in as well.

Does it popup safe in cluster as dying immediately after starting sounds like immo.

I can't offer any advice on this one as I've never done an Audi cambelt. My only venture into that territory was on my old V6 Alfa, that was a pita! I've sworn since I'd never do one again.

But many kudos to you for doing it. Master this and there won't be much you can't do on the car.

I've just finished putting a new timing belt on my 2.0TDi CAGA engine in my 2011 A4 Avant the engine will now turn over start and then die instantly.

The timing appears to be correct as when I have the crank indexing tool installed and aligned the cam indexer can easily be installed as can the HPFP indexing pin.