First attempt at Wet Sanding

Dubbers1

Top Gear
Reaction score
First of all I am far from a pro at this and I would recommend having a Paint Depth Gauge before attempting this

So heres the orange peel I had on my front arches

DSC_0015.jpg

DSC_0009.jpg

DSC_0012.jpg

DSC_0013.jpg

DSC_0019.jpg

DSC_0022.jpg

DSC_0024.jpg

DSC_0027.jpg

First I took paint depth measurements, then started off with 1200 grit then 2000 grit and finishing off with 3000 grit

DSC_0033.jpg

DSC_0037.jpg

DSC_0039.jpg

DSC_0056.jpg

DSC_0065.jpg

DSC_0141.jpg

Once I was happy most of the peel was gone I polished it back up with my DA

DSC_0151.jpg

DSC_0157.jpg

DSC_0160.jpg

Once I was happy the gloss had all been restored I sealed the paint and whacked some water on it for an arty shot

DSC_0169.jpg

Obviously far from perfect as it was my first go ever but I am more than pleased with it, makes such a difference just looking at the car

Comments welcome

Thanks, I tried quite a few but I think i ended up with Meguiars 105 on a wool pad and then some Menzerna PO85RE to refine

Threw in some 3M Fast-Cut Plus at some point too

Would of been a whole lot easier with a Rotary but I've not stepped up to the big leagues yet

Nicely done! Very brave indeed. I still get scared everytime I use my DA...wetsanding would just push me over the edge :p

Thanks guys, was a bit of a squeaky bum exercise but now I've done it it wasnt all that bad

Very time consuming but I was taking paint measurements and wiping it down every 2 seconds to make sure I didnt go too far

Great results, just bought some 2500 grade sand paper for our s4 as well. Where did you paint depth gauge from?

Great results, just bought some 2500 grade sand paper for our s4 as well. Where did you paint depth gauge from?

Where did I get it from or where did I measure?

If you're using 2500 grit I hope you have a Rotary because it took a long time getting the gloss back from 3000 grit with my DA, could have just been me though