front tyres wear: driving style or another issue

wickedstef

Reaction score
Guys,

I need your opinion on this. I saw some odd wear on both front tyres: it looks like the side see too much tarmac. I checked the pressure regularly and I never got them outside of the 39.5-41 range, more like 40-41 (I adjust the pressure otherwise).

Could someone tell me:

- is this expected?
- can this be due to aggressive turn ins
- is it a bad alignment (nothing done since factory)
- something else (I'm no expert thats why I need you)

Pictures attached

Cheers

Attachments

• IMG_20130527_191805.jpg
    IMG_20130527_191805.jpg
    83.5 KB · Views: 162
  • IMG_20130527_191801.jpg
    IMG_20130527_191801.jpg
    84.7 KB · Views: 132
  • IMG_20130527_191706.jpg
    IMG_20130527_191706.jpg
    88.9 KB · Views: 124
  • IMG_20130527_191648.jpg
    IMG_20130527_191648.jpg
    96.7 KB · Views: 130
  • IMG_20130527_191633.jpg
    IMG_20130527_191633.jpg
    88.6 KB · Views: 112
  • IMG_20130527_191608.jpg
    IMG_20130527_191608.jpg
    97.9 KB · Views: 115
  • IMG_20130527_191603.jpg
    IMG_20130527_191603.jpg
    91.2 KB · Views: 131
Hi Wickedstef,

1) What's the mileage?

2) Please put the steering on full lock and take a photo across the full-width of the tread.

3) Doesn't look so bad for 6000-miles, say (and I know you're enjoying the car as you've said so elsewhere!).

Note: if it's excessive wear on the left-hand side then that's definitely you! You'll need to move the steering wheel over to the proper side...

45bvtc
:salute:

Here you go Wickedstef, my fronts (now on the back - see elsewhere) @ 4500_miles:

Last edited by a moderator: