Google Earth/Satellite Maps

QuattroPhilG

Registered User
Should be fine - afaik the mod removes the link : I only bought a one month extension so can confirm in 3 weeks...


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
I also purchased a month update too, but mine is missing. Strange.
 

Attachments

  • 0A64C1A6-E00A-4142-8041-EAEB2E897537.jpeg
    0A64C1A6-E00A-4142-8041-EAEB2E897537.jpeg
    1.5 MB · Views: 55

QuattroPhilG

Registered User
you can send a screenshot of how to do it in obdeleven 11 to set it. I can't find off the hmi anywhere
In OBD Eleven (Pro Version required) go to Control Units. -- 5F(Multimedia) -- Adaption -- Vehicle Configuration. -- Finally turn OFF the Remote HMI. Once done turn off the car ignition totally and then restart, make sure that the Google Earth map view is selected. Good luck.
 

pagenotfound

Registered User
Just tried Google Earth overlay on my maps today and it works again. MY16 A4. No changes done with vcds or obd11. Wonder how long it will stay working for though. Would be nice to get some official statement from Audi.
 

Jonfun

2016 A4 Avant B9 190 Quattro S-Line
Just tried Google Earth overlay on my maps today and it works again. MY16 A4. No changes done with vcds or obd11. Wonder how long it will stay working for though. Would be nice to get some official statement from Audi.
I get excited every time I see someone post these message ... so I run off outside and check, alas still no Google Earth :( maybe soon!
 

pagenotfound

Registered User
Sorry to get your hopes up. I'd been meaning to check for a while but it's the first time I've tried since it stopped working. The Google Earth option appeared to be greyed out but I selected it and after a short while the overlay loaded up. I've not got an Audi connect subscription or any such options in my MMI, just a pre pay data sim installed in the glovebox sim slot.
 

MitchellChang

Registered User
Regards to the software update offered by Audi for 17 and later cars, is there any downsides to it? like is it not as good as google earth?
 

pagenotfound

Registered User
Went out in the car for the first time in ages today (other than local shopping) and the Google Earth overlay and online destination search were working a treat. I didn't really use GE much before so don't know if this is normal but the default map view kept changing back to standard view after ignition off for a while. Selecting it in the main screen map menu would see it return in main screen and VC but if selecting in VC view from the steering wheel controls it wouldn't. Maybe it was always like that or it's not quite fully back and working properly.
 

QuattroPhilG

Registered User
Went out in the car for the first time in ages today (other than local shopping) and the Google Earth overlay and online destination search were working a treat. I didn't really use GE much before so don't know if this is normal but the default map view kept changing back to standard view after ignition off for a while. Selecting it in the main screen map menu would see it return in main screen and VC but if selecting in VC view from the steering wheel controls it wouldn't. Maybe it was always like that or it's not quite fully back and working properly.
Yes it looks like it defaults back to standard view if you leave it for too long before restarting the ignition. Looks like short start and stop journeys hold the Google but say overnight it defaults back. However currently we are getting it direct so no Audi Connect sub required. And that my friends is just grand.
 

Exx-on

Registered User
In OBD Eleven (Pro Version required) go to Control Units. -- 5F(Multimedia) -- Adaption -- Vehicle Configuration. -- Finally turn OFF the Remote HMI. Once done turn off the car ignition totally and then restart, make sure that the Google Earth map view is selected. Good luck.

This has worked for me also

Audi Connect option has gone from the main menu, not that I ever used it anyway.

myAudi contacts in the Nav seems to be dead also, but I’ll take that over losing Google maps!

Shall report back if I notice any further missing features / bugs from disabling Remote HMI.

Thanks as always guys/girls!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 

GenerationGav

Registered User
I'm going to test this on mine, it's a 2019 so I already have the "alternate" maps. But I'm intrigued for when my Audi Connect expires.
However - does this affect the remote location, locking and status?
 

Exx-on

Registered User
I’ve never had these functions available to my in the myAudi app I’m afraid so I wouldn’t be able to tell you (MY16 A4)


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 

QuattroPhilG

Registered User
This has worked for me also

Audi Connect option has gone from the main menu, not that I ever used it anyway.

myAudi contacts in the Nav seems to be dead also, but I’ll take that over losing Google maps!

Shall report back if I notice any further missing features / bugs from disabling Remote HMI.

Thanks as always guys/girls!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
That is good news. Just remember that it appears to not be selected automatically and will default back to standard maps and manual selection is required if the car is turned off for a while
 

Exx-on

Registered User
Copy that - I imagine that will get pretty boring pretty fast however until there’s another/an official fix it is what it is


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 

QuattroPhilG

Registered User
Copy that - I imagine that will get pretty boring pretty fast however until there’s another/an official fix it is what it is


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
To be honest it is not an issue. It seems to hold the setting if you are in and out of the car on short journeys. Leave it off for 20 mins and deselection is needed.
 

gregpot2000

Registered User
To be honest it is not an issue. It seems to hold the setting if you are in and out of the car on short journeys. Leave it off for 20 mins and deselection is needed.
Makes sense, as all the car modules only properly go to "sleep" after about 30minutes of the car being turned off
 

Kiltedcamel

Registered User
It is abit odd as when I started the car this morning it booted straight into Google Earth view it had been off for 16hrs though. Work that one out LOL.

Same for me, I never have to re select Google earth, it just loads up every time after a minute or so, even if I haven't used the car for a few days.
 

QuattroPhilG

Registered User
Same goes for me! A good 24 hours and it’s still selected as default which is great !


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
To be honest I think that mine might also hold the setting for Google Earth most of the time but a couple of occasions it has not, will try and see if it defaults back to standard view again at any point.
 

EvoSim

Registered User
Has anyone had the software Update from Audi for a 2017 onwards car to re-enable satellite display?
Just had Google Earth restored by my local Audi dealer on a 2017 S4B9. Option now shows as "Satellite maps", does not look as good as Google Earth did but better than being stuck with the Standard TomTom look.
 

MitchellChang

Registered User
Just had Google Earth restored by my local Audi dealer on a 2017 S4B9. Option now shows as "Satellite maps", does not look as good as Google Earth did but better than being stuck with the Standard TomTom look.
Did the old google earth view always show the copyright watermark at the top of the maps or did it disappear after awhile? if so does the new satellite view show any watermarks as such?
 

EvoSim

Registered User
Did the old google earth view always show the copyright watermark at the top of the maps or did it disappear after awhile? if so does the new satellite view show any watermarks as such?
I will grab you a picture of the Map display next time I am out in the car, It had a few watermarks at the top of the display but I cant remember exactly what it said. One thing I noted was that it still says Google at the bottom right of the screen but now in the new Google font not the old font that I have seen in a few of the images on this thread.
 

MitchellChang

Registered User
I will grab you a picture of the Map display next time I am out in the car, It had a few watermarks at the top of the display but I cant remember exactly what it said. One thing I noted was that it still says Google at the bottom right of the screen but now in the new Google font not the old font that I have seen in a few of the images on this thread.
Thanks man, really appreciate it!
 

EvoSim

Registered User
Thanks man, really appreciate it!
No problem. Take a look at page 2 of this thread, L_G posted an image of his updated map screen, looks just like mine. Also I don't think the watermark text ever disappears and from the display, I think it mentions Airbus and Maxar Technologies https://www.maxar.com

Will grab some images also as am interested to compare some of my software versions with others in the thread.

While talking with Audi I also enquired about updating my navigation maps to 2021 as my licence has expired on 2020. They wanted something like £260 for the update, no thanks I said.
 

MitchellChang

Registered User
No problem. Take a look at page 2 of this thread, L_G posted an image of his updated map screen, looks just like mine. Also I don't think the watermark text ever disappears and from the display, I think it mentions Airbus and Maxar Technologies https://www.maxar.com

Will grab some images also as am interested to compare some of my software versions with others in the thread.

While talking with Audi I also enquired about updating my navigation maps to 2021 as my licence has expired on 2020. They wanted something like £260 for the update, no thanks I said.
I just updated a few regions in my car to 2020 Maps, And £260 is so expensive for a year lol, I'm thinking of asking them if they can update the firmware along with doing the update for the satellite view, unless the firmware has to be updated for the satellite View fix so it's done anyway?
 

Exx-on

Registered User
Small update - I had a weird message pop up on my MMI screen this evening when leaving work telling me I had no ‘active data sim card’ inserted into the car. Then the message disappeared after about 5 seconds, loaded GoogleMaps view as normal and then popped up with another message saying about not have an Audi Connect license (which I do until June this year), which then also sorted itself out and disappeared.

Not sure whether this was the car throwing a small wobbly or whether it is related to having turned off ‘remote_HMI’ or not .

If it happens again I’d imagine it’s to do with the tweak used to fix the GoogleMaps view however I’ll try get some snaps if it does happen again!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 

EvoSim

Registered User
Small update - I had a weird message pop up on my MMI screen this evening when leaving work telling me I had no ‘active data sim card’ inserted into the car. Then the message disappeared after about 5 seconds, loaded GoogleMaps view as normal and then popped up with another message saying about not have an Audi Connect license (which I do until June this year), which then also sorted itself out and disappeared.

Not sure whether this was the car throwing a small wobbly or whether it is related to having turned off ‘remote_HMI’ or not .

If it happens again I’d imagine it’s to do with the tweak used to fix the GoogleMaps view however I’ll try get some snaps if it does happen again!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Funny you should say this, I spent the afternoon fighting with my MMI to get Android Auto back up and working when it had worked fine prior to the Satellite map update (thought if new Satellite maps turn out to be ***** then I can use google maps via AA).

In the end I had to delete the Bluetooth connection to the phone, reset the Audi Smartphone Interface in MMI settings and clear all Android Auto App data on the phone to get things going. 2 hours of fun fixing something that worked fine prior to the satellite overlay update.
 

gregpot2000

Registered User
Small update - I had a weird message pop up on my MMI screen this evening when leaving work telling me I had no ‘active data sim card’ inserted into the car. Then the message disappeared after about 5 seconds, loaded GoogleMaps view as normal and then popped up with another message saying about not have an Audi Connect license (which I do until June this year), which then also sorted itself out and disappeared.

Not sure whether this was the car throwing a small wobbly or whether it is related to having turned off ‘remote_HMI’ or not .

If it happens again I’d imagine it’s to do with the tweak used to fix the GoogleMaps view however I’ll try get some snaps if it does happen again!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
HI There

I've had my car 3 years, and I've had this message pop up from time to time every so often since I got it. It's a completely normal glitch if that even makes sense!
I just click ok and it all soon goes back normal. So I wouldn't worry it's something you've done/changed recently, this issue has always been there
 

Exx-on

Registered User
Yeah I figured as much - I think I’ve had it appear maybe once before over the last 4 years but wondered whether it would now be a regular thing due to the modification.

Glad I’m not the only one and fingers crossed it was just another rare random occurrence!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 

EvoSim

Registered User
I just updated a few regions in my car to 2020 Maps, And £260 is so expensive for a year lol, I'm thinking of asking them if they can update the firmware along with doing the update for the satellite view, unless the firmware has to be updated for the satellite View fix so it's done anyway?
Pictures of my map view and software versions after Satellite map update.
 

Attachments

  • 20210409_122434.jpg
    20210409_122434.jpg
    4.6 MB · Views: 29
  • 20210409_122615.jpg
    20210409_122615.jpg
    3.4 MB · Views: 31
  • 20210409_122629.jpg
    20210409_122629.jpg
    3.3 MB · Views: 25

QuattroPhilG

Registered User
Yeah I figured as much - I think I’ve had it appear maybe once before over the last 4 years but wondered whether it would now be a regular thing due to the modification.

Glad I’m not the only one and fingers crossed it was just another rare random occurrence!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Yes, I have had the message on a couple of occasions over the last year or so. Glitch I reckon.
 
Top