Hmm dodgy buyer perhaps?

Sheikh

Reaction score
Basically put my car on gumtree and i got a response from a guy who seems slighly dodgy?

He text me from an offshore number asking me to e-mail him.
After telling him the price of the car? He didnt seem to already know this.

I got this:

'Hi thanks for reply, i am a marine engineer, i am at sea right now. I
am buying this for my son as a surprise gift. I can only pay through
paypal at the moment as i dont have access to my bank account online(i
dont have internet banking with it), but i have it attached to my
paypal account, and this is why i insisted on using paypal to pay,all
i will need is your paypal email address to make the payments, and if
you dont have a paypal account yet, you can set one it cant take you
less than 3mins to do that, i will be expecting your paypal email so l
can pay. I have a pick up agent that will come for the pick up after
payments has been sorted, l will be waiting for your reply asap..'

Seem a bit sketchy at all? dont really want to be taking paypal because there seller protection is pants.

Any ideas?

A quick google of the guys e-mail address reveals he is in fact a scam artist.

sounds like the guy that bez had a couple of months ago on ebay

First line gives it away as a scam. "I'm at sea right now" - "I'm out of the country", anything like that is a scam.

Mate definitely a scam, had the same bloke message me through eBay about cruise control.

He sent this:

Hi,Do you still have it for sale? i will like to make an offer of the exactly amount you want to sell it,payment will be made through paypal and i will arrange for the pick up as well. Cheers, Andrew.

Followed by this: