How do YOU wash/wax your car?

J4MMYz

Reaction score
Interested in knowing what steps people take to properly clean their car...

When it needs washing, i'm planning on - rinse < snow foam < wash with shampoo < rinse < microfibre dry.

When it needs waxing, all of the above then - autoglym clay bar kit < autoglym wax

(providing I don't have any scratched to get out anyway..)

Whats everyone else's methods? I heard about tar remover, so is there anything I should do before claying? Or anything I can do extra to the routine wash?

Also, I have normal sized buckets (like a builders bucket) - will a grit guard fit in these?

Cheers.

I've just done my first "detail" on my wife's Yaris and am a complete novice at this. I had a good read on the Detailing World forum and the Polished Bliss and Auto Finesse websites to find out a bit more. The products I used are all from Auto Finesse (except where noted) as I seem to have latched onto their stuff:

-Snow foamed with Avalanche, using a Karcher K2 and the Polished Bliss snow foam lance
-Rinsed
-Washed using the two bucket method with Lather and a lambswool mitt
-'Tarred' using Autosmart Tar Remover (although I will be using ObliTARate)
-Clayed using a G3 clay mitt. This thing is so easy to use, even for a novice like me!
-Rinsed
-Polished by hand using Tripple
-Waxed with Desire
-Trim restored using Revive
-Windows cleaned with Crystal
-Tyres dressed with Satin

This doesn't have alloys so nothing special for the wheels. If it did have, then no doubt Imperial and Mint Rims would have made an appearance. They certainly will when I get my A3!

The Desire is supposed to last ages, so a maintenance wash shouldn't really need to be too much effort. Just snow foam > wash > dry. Some of the bits would probably need topping up before the wax did, so will fold those in as they're needed. The full shebang should only need it twice a year though, from what I've read anyways. I was planning on October and March.