Keyless start

AlS3BE

Reaction score
hi folks,
Quick question.
Is it possible to retrofit keyless start?
I’m not looking for the whole advance key where you can open doors with key in pocket.
Just the keyless start like in the A6 where you still had to unlock/lock with remote buttons but you can start the car with pressing start butting instead of using a key and turning it in a barrel(so old school)
Just missing a few creature comforts I had in the A6.
Cheers,
Al

This was a hot topic when I asked lol.

To date, no one has confirmation that it has been done, although one forum user said there's a retrofit company in **** saying they can do it, but he wouldn't provide any info of the company.

I have a master tech friend here putting together a hardware list to retro in the oem equipment from the factory option package. Then it will be a rabbit hole of coding to figure out.

I think it can be done. Not cheaply, not easily, but can be.

There's mixed opinions on that lol.

Surely it can’t be that difficult. Replace the key barrel with a start switch/button and change the receiver for the immobiliser so it can pick up the signal from the key in my pocket .... or rob a whole load of bits from an A6/7 and see if you can code it.
Maybe it’s just my old school way of modifying cars

It's been done, they've cracked the security thing since last year.

Surely it can’t be that difficult. Replace the key barrel with a start switch/button and change the receiver for the immobiliser so it can pick up the signal from the key in my pocket .... or rob a whole load of bits from an A6/7 and see if you can code it.
Maybe it’s just my old school way of modifying cars
If it wasn't that difficult then hazzydayz or kufatec would offer it as a retrofit. But they don't thus this suggests that the interface with the rest of the car's systems require far more, plus alternative keys and sensors.