My DIY guide for Retro fitting Puddle Lights

e9_mustii

Registered User
Looking good :D is it fixed in that position or can you not just rotate the filter/lens to the correct orientation?
No i can take it apart and rotate it but i cant be asked as when i initially bought then they where meant to say "S3" so they've sent me the wrong ones. They'll be sending me the correct ones at no extra cost so don't see the point in remove and taking apart to rotate lense as im just going to remove them and they'll gather dust somewhere

Sent from my SM-N960F using Tapatalk
 

Muzzy

Registered User
Hi I’m trying to fit puddle lights into an A3 2014 version and have noticed 18 & 19 have no pins in the connector. Does anyone know how I should wire these up???
 

Attachments

  • 10DF4BEF-DA9D-4CE8-BCB3-20E1BB3C9A1D.jpeg
    10DF4BEF-DA9D-4CE8-BCB3-20E1BB3C9A1D.jpeg
    907.4 KB · Views: 247
  • AFD0F81E-FF66-4E03-970B-44C9E26E5E9B.jpeg
    AFD0F81E-FF66-4E03-970B-44C9E26E5E9B.jpeg
    1.3 MB · Views: 274

e9_mustii

Registered User
Bro 18 and 19nisnfor facelift 2009-2013 if you in a 8v it may be different your in the wrong section of the forum, but if im.weong and it is a 8p the 18 and 19 where empty on mine to you just push them into the connecter 18 is + 19 is - if im not wrong

Sent from my SM-N960F using Tapatalk
 

Muzzy

Registered User
Bro 18 and 19nisnfor facelift 2009-2013 if you in a 8v it may be different your in the wrong section of the forum, but if im.weong and it is a 8p the 18 and 19 where empty on mine to you just push them into the connecter 18 is + 19 is - if im not wrong

Sent from my SM-N960F using Tapatalk
Pin 12 is the feed and 13 is Earth but u need to share the earth.
 

Panos_RR

Registered User
I did mine as a weekend project last week in my A1 2014. I had to do some tests to find the right pin , I used the common pin between driver and passenger side . After switch on from VCDS i measured the voltage on the pins and the behavior with the door open and closed. Pin 16 is the one for mine, works perfect on with the status of the door (open closed) you still need to share the earth (pin 5) in my case at least.
 

John_A5

Registered User
Hi guys

I am completely new to the audi scene and would like to add the warning lights and puddle lights to my A5. I'm confident with the wiring but not sure about the program side on VCDS.
My question is why is this required? Surely as long as the lights get a earth and live feed they will just light up if we're "piggy backing" off existing loom?
Apologies for my lack of knowledge around this

John
 

John_A5

Registered User
Hi guys

I am completely new to the world of Audis and VCDS. I would love to install the warning lights and puddle lights to my A5. Think I'm okay with the wiring but not to sure on the programming side. Can I ask why coding is required? Surely if you're just "piggy backing" off an existing power and earth feed then it will work?
Sorry for the lack of knowledge here
 

John_A5

Registered User
Hi guys

I am completely new to the world of Audis and VCDS. I would love to install the warning lights and puddle lights to my A5. Think I'm okay with the wiring but not to sure on the programming side. Can I ask why coding is required? Surely if you're just "piggy backing" off an existing power and earth feed then it will work?
Sorry for the lack of knowledge here
 

John_A5

Registered User
Hi guys

I am completely new to the world of Audis and VCDS. I would love to install the warning lights and puddle lights to my A5. Think I'm okay with the wiring but not to sure on the programming side. Can I ask why coding is required? Surely if you're just "piggy backing" off an existing power and earth feed then it will work?
Sorry for the lack of knowledge here
 

RobinA3

Site Sponsor
Site Sponsor
VCDS Map User
Hi guys

I am completely new to the world of Audis and VCDS. I would love to install the warning lights and puddle lights to my A5. Think I'm okay with the wiring but not to sure on the programming side. Can I ask why coding is required? Surely if you're just "piggy backing" off an existing power and earth feed then it will work?
Sorry for the lack of knowledge here

You’re not piggy backing off an existing power supply, the puddle lights get supply off a certain pin on the door controller and the door controller needs to be coded so that it gives that particular pin 12v.
 

George Kost

Registered User
Hello all,

I have an 5-door A3 facelift (09/2009 build. Plate 59 I think).
I will do the fitting this weekend.

On VCDS I need to code both front and rear doors (42, 52, 62, 72)?
Or only front (42-Door Elect. Driver and 52-Door Elect. Pass)?

Best regards,
George
 

Daniel James

Registered User
tried looking through this complete thread but cant see anywhere to see what bulb the standard puddle lights are ? I have puddle lights as standard but want to upgrade them to LED but the only ones I can see on ebay are a complete unit instead of just the bulb

(sorry if ive missed it in this thread)
 

henkkeumus

Dutch Retrofitfanatic
Hello all,

I have an 5-door A3 facelift (09/2009 build. Plate 59 I think).
I will do the fitting this weekend.

On VCDS I need to code both front and rear doors (42, 52, 62, 72)?
Or only front (42-Door Elect. Driver and 52-Door Elect. Pass)?

Best regards,
George

You need to code all doors seperatly yes.

tried looking through this complete thread but cant see anywhere to see what bulb the standard puddle lights are ? I have puddle lights as standard but want to upgrade them to LED but the only ones I can see on ebay are a complete unit instead of just the bulb

(sorry if ive missed it in this thread)

LED doesn't use a bulb but ... LED :D.
If you want LED you need to swap the whole light unit, so just order new ones from eBay or the Chinese website and make sure the connector is the same you should be good :).

Few examples; https://nl.aliexpress.com/item/1000...8811IsZPXYYzpXWXgWRoCL4QQAvD_BwE&gclsrc=aw.ds

https://nl.aliexpress.com/item/4000...chweb0_0,searchweb201602_7,searchweb201603_53
 

Daniel James

Registered User
You need to code all doors seperatly yes.



LED doesn't use a bulb but ... LED :D.
If you want LED you need to swap the whole light unit, so just order new ones from eBay or the Chinese website and make sure the connector is the same you should be good :).

Few examples; https://nl.aliexpress.com/item/1000...8811IsZPXYYzpXWXgWRoCL4QQAvD_BwE&gclsrc=aw.ds

https://nl.aliexpress.com/item/4000...chweb0_0,searchweb201602_7,searchweb201603_53
Yeah that’s what I meant but like .... for example old side lights are 501 bulbs so the led equivalent if you know what I mean
 

e9_mustii

Registered User
Yeah that’s what I meant but like .... for example old side lights are 501 bulbs so the led equivalent if you know what I mean
If you have the wiring then no coding should be required simple.replace modules, my car didnt have it so i had to install the loops and make the cut outs in the door cards aswell as code it to work

Sent from my SM-N976B using Tapatalk
 

George Kost

Registered User
Quick question:
do the warning and puddle lights go off after some time?
I installed them this weekend. Super happy.
But noticed that they do still work if I disable the lights from the cluster in the roof.

Best regards,
George
 

Attachments

  • IMG_2352.jpg
    IMG_2352.jpg
    692.1 KB · Views: 321
  • IMG_2350.jpg
    IMG_2350.jpg
    326.3 KB · Views: 323

milkyjoe01

Registered User
Hi Robin. I think it's molex pins you use to connect the loom to the door connector. Can you tell me what the part number is please for the pins? Thanks.
 

RobinA3

Site Sponsor
Site Sponsor
VCDS Map User
Hi Robin. I think it's molex pins you use to connect the loom to the door connector. Can you tell me what the part number is please for the pins? Thanks.

No.

I don't have the part number for them, I don't buy them from Audi otherwise it would cost me a lot more than the £15 a harness that I charge.

I buy all my terminals and connectors directly from the manufacturer to be able to offer them for £15 per harness. If you are to buy all the terminals and connectors from Audi then you'll be looking at about £20 just to make 1 harness.

I know that we have spoken via ebay but if you look at the kit you were messaging me about if you bought all the bits to make that kit via Audi then you'll be spending a lot more than what I sell the kits for.
 

milkyjoe01

Registered User
No.

I don't have the part number for them, I don't buy them from Audi otherwise it would cost me a lot more than the £15 a harness that I charge.

I buy all my terminals and connectors directly from the manufacturer to be able to offer them for £15 per harness. If you are to buy all the terminals and connectors from Audi then you'll be looking at about £20 just to make 1 harness.

I know that we have spoken via ebay but if you look at the kit you were messaging me about if you bought all the bits to make that kit via Audi then you'll be spending a lot more than what I sell the kits for.

I have most of the items needed, I only require the molex pins from molex & just need the part no. that you used when you purchased your pins if you wouldn't mind sharing the info. Thanks,.
 

George Kost

Registered User
I have most of the items needed, I only require the molex pins from molex & just need the part no. that you used when you purchased your pins if you wouldn't mind sharing the info. Thanks,.
You mean the small pins?
They are called MQS terminals.
 

Attachments

  • 703FC12B-3E1A-409A-A715-6B93E4481065.jpeg
    703FC12B-3E1A-409A-A715-6B93E4481065.jpeg
    103.8 KB · Views: 70

JohnnalS3

New Member
Hi! My car is an Audi S3 8p (2009fl)and i want to put the red and white warning lights on door panels.
I have bought the complete light kit - from ebay ,and i 'm ready to fix it!(also i have the vcds for coding)
I would like to do ,one question only.

After the coding ,the suitable pin(i don't remember the number) ,from the connector, has current for door warning bulbs (12volt for 2 bulbs 5+5 watts)Ok.
This current "is connected"with an door sensor switch ,and the current stop for each door door is close?
Or the current is from the same line to ceiling lights?Which means, when one door is open , light are on ,and for another close door- but does not appear-)

Thanks
 

George Kost

Registered User
Hi! My car is an Audi S3 8p (2009fl)and i want to put the red and white warning lights on door panels.
I have bought the complete light kit - from ebay ,and i 'm ready to fix it!(also i have the vcds for coding)
I would like to do ,one question only.

After the coding ,the suitable pin(i don't remember the number) ,from the connector, has current for door warning bulbs (12volt for 2 bulbs 5+5 watts)Ok.
This current "is connected"with an door sensor switch ,and the current stop for each door door is close?
Or the current is from the same line to ceiling lights?Which means, when one door is open , light are on ,and for another close door- but does not appear-)

Thanks
Each door lights are powered from the module in that door.
They work independently.
 
Top