My RNS-E install, with double DIN conversion

Reaction score
Hello from Norway!

Initially posted this on audizine, but wanted to share it here aswell. Can be removed if considered a "double post". I know there's great DIY's on this topic already :)

Anyways, this spring I decided to do the RNS-E retrofit. I initially had the Concert II single DIN headunit.

Disclaimer: I am not a mechanic, and will not take responsibility for anything that may be damaged or broken while using this DIY on your own vehicle. This DIY is intended as an aid only.

P1030570_copy.jpg

Table of contents

- Prerequisites (post #1)
- Removal of the center console (post #1)
- Modifying the center console (post #2)
- Modifying the climate control unit (post #2)
- Installing the double DIN cage (post #3)
- RNS-E installation (post #3)

Prerequisites

Single DIN → double DIN
  • Double DIN radio cage
    8E0 858 005 C (B6, aluminum) or 8E0 858 005 F (B7, plastic)
  • Climate control
    8E0 820 043 BM (B7 model, facia color to match RNS-E)
RNS-E retrofit
  • RNS-E navigation unit
    8E0 035 192 D (A4 B7 face plate)
  • Quadlock adapter, GPS antenna, Fakra adapter
    Ebay, Kufatec etc.
Tools
  • Audi radio removal keys (x4)
  • 8mm & 13mm socket, Torx T20 & T10, hacksaw ++
  • Flat headed & Philips screw driver

rns-e-retrofit-parts.png

Removal of center console

P1030577.jpg

Use the radio removal keys. Insert as shown.

P1030579.jpg

Pull straight out.

P1030580.jpg

Remove connectors. The yellow plug is a fakra connector.

P1030581.jpg

It might be a good idea to protect your gear knob.

P1030582.jpg

Remove old climate control unit. It pulls straight out.

P1030583.jpg

Remove all connectors from the back of the panel.

P1030586.jpg

Remove the trim surrounding the gear knob. It has 4 clips, 1 at each corner. Pull straight up.

P1030587.jpg

Push to release cover beneath e-brake lever. Remove 2x Philips screws

P1030592.jpg