New S1 replacing RS3

Mr_Freeze

Reaction score
Hi Guys,
I’ve dropped from a 2012 RS3 to a 2018 S1.
This is Day 1 and I’ve only driven it from the stealers to home, but I already feel I can have fun with this.
Yes it doesn’t have the power of the 3 but I’d liken it to driving a really fast go cart already.
Anyway as a new owner, any pointers on what issues it may have or what problems they suffer from?
It’s a Yellow Competition with Satnav, heated sport seats, Quattro interior styling pack, High beam assist.

Reactions: Audi Bairn, Sandra, Kelza and 1 other person
Nice spec! I'm new to the Audi scene myself having bought our S1 a few months ago but I have already learned that clutches are a weak point with reports of standard clutches failing even at 10k miles. The solution appears to be a Sachs organic clutch that'll handle 300+bhp apparently. No issues with mine yet but something to bear in mind. Enjoy the car!

Reactions: Mr_Freeze
My OEM clutch was ok until I went stage 1 remap, then it lasted two weeks before it slipped :)

I'd read about the OEM clutches not lasting under additional torque/bhp and had set the cash aside for the Sachs Organic clutch - no issues since I've had this done and I think they're good for over 400bhp, although I don't intend to go there ;)

Reactions: Johnny 99
Congrats - I know what you mean about the S1, it sort of gets under your skin and the size of it really plays to it's strengths... I have a new RS5 as a daily also, however the way the S1 goes around corners just puts a smile on your face. I put some H&R sport springs on mine and some spacers, transforms the look of the car and clearly the handling.. I was standing back admiring the S1 the other day, it really is a handsomely designed little car!!

G

Reactions: Mr_Freeze and Johnny 99