New Tyres....again!!

Big Bird

Reaction score
Ok, choices....

My 2009 2.0 TFSI quattro needs new tyres. The original dunlops have managed an excellent 34k miles!!!!

I can get the same again for around £900 for four fitted, but have also found the Avon ZZ5 for £680 fitted.

Anyone any thoughts on what to go for? Mainly do motorway miles with the occasional A-B road drive.

The dunlops wear rate is attracting me back, but the avon price is also very good.

Help......!!

thats a fantastic amount of miles ! do you like to race it about abit ?

do you like to race it about abit ?

Is that a serious question, or are you really 12???

Yes, i like to drive it progressively, where safe and sensible to do so. I do a lot of motorway mileage, but also cross country drives on various scottish roads, so my driving style adapts to the conditions. I think ahead a lot and plan my driving well in advance, but i'm not shy at making progress. But i do teach advanced driving for a living, so i'd expect nothing less.

Maybe you just typed that without thinking how it looks, or how you come across to others, so i'll cut you some slack and not rip into you straight away, but really, "race it about a bit"?

Come on...............

So, anyone else got helpful advice on tyre experiences on the A4?

Given the miles you got out of the Dunlop's I'd go for them again.
Avon's are more budget sports tyres, when having the choice of budget sports I normally go for Falkens rather than Avon a I find them a betted ride and more grip, but you won't get 34k out of them!

I said it like that because if i say something like do you race it about , everybody starts calling me a **** for driving fast and over the speed limits on any Road so i am trying to like make it abit less aggresive :l to keep other people happy but then gets other people annoyed, *** ...

Last edited: