Noob Questions for New Purchase

MikhailCompo

Reaction score
I just received this, and so far I am delighted with it.
20200706 140150 Edit 2

Sadly, it must sit outside my terraced house on a street, so it will take some TLC to keep it looking as good. I have absolutely no equipment or experience with keeping a car shiny, so what should I buy?

What should I use to clean it?
I know the pipes should be regularly wiped to remove soot, what product should I use for that? I have never polished a car, what should I use for that - Power tool or take to a detailer?
How much does detailing cost typically?

Thanks!

Reactions: Jassyo06
Considering your circumstances I would consider getting it professionally ceramic coated the just maintenance washes after that. The detailer will be able to recommend compatible products.
good luck nice looking car.

Reactions: MikhailCompo
I detail professionally for a living, and a lot of my clients are in similar situations with no access to a hose pipe, and no maintenance equipment, which can be tough when you love your car. I would agree that a professional ceramic coating (which will first see your car polished and then sealed with the coating) would really be beneficial in your situation, as the car will stay cleaner, and rinse off much easier when really dirty and generally require less miantenance. For the rest of the time you could look into a waterless wash such as CarPro ECH20 or Optimum No Rinse (though I'm not a fan of the later). These will allow you to spray and wipe off dust, and for light soiling you can use a bucket with a few gallons of water and some product to wipe the car down and buff dry. These products have surfactants and emulsifiers that help lift dirt, and using (many) multiple microfibre cloths you can gently remove light dirt. This keeps the car looking clean and presentable, and you can do wheel sand exhaust tips with it as well as windows, so its a good one product solution. When it's really dirty you will ne