Personal number plate query

Gill ZB

Reaction score
I know I'm a nightmare newbie to keep asking questions - and probably posting in the wrong place (sorry Sandra!:relaxed:) but my TT was sold to me with a personal number plate (I didn't ask for it - it came with the Audi) - but the salesman then told me after I had paid that it may have to go back on the original dvla number plate - he told me this the same time he was handing me the keys and trying to get away as fast as he could - so I didn't fully understand ...if I bought the TT with the private number plate doesn't that mean that it belongs with the car and thus is mine ? He did say while he was giving me the sales patter and getting me to sign for things I now realise I didn't need, that the car came with the plates and that the seller didn't want them. However when I test drove the TT the plates had in small writing Audi north east - but I now see the plates say the dealers name I bought from on - are they the legal owners of the plates and I will have to go back to original dvla one? I was also told at point of sale that the plates were worth something. I'm thinking the dealer now wants them back to sell on even though I bought the TT under that reg ?? I'm confused.com big time!!! I've also been told by a colleague that as a single female they have taken advantage of my ignorance and the fact that I was so in love with the TT that I would have signed my life away without realising ! I really need informed advice as none of my pals know the answer to this and I'm getting conflicting advice and I don't want to be taken advantage of again - it's vac enough being told the £580 warranty isn't worth paper it's written on and I don't understand the invoice breakdown at all !!! Sorry to be such a pain but I could do with some help please :astonished::neutral:...Thankyou to anyone who didn't fall asleep reading my epic war and peace length posts!!!:tearsofjoy::tearsofjoy:

Reactions: Ringway