Reprogramming ABS Module - A4 Avant B9

shope

Registered User
Hi there,
I'm new to the forum and would be very grateful for some advice from you guys much smarter than me!
Is it possible to reprogram a second hand ABS control module on a B9 A4?

Here's the waffle as to why I'm asking:

I have a 2016 A4 Avant Diesel 2.0 TDI 190.
It recently showed the dashboard error "Brake servo: restricted. You can continue driving. Please contact workshop."
So I took it to the dealer expecting to replace the pressure sensor (thanks to some research on this site) - hoping it's a £250 ish job.

I then got following back from the main dealer:
Event entry C123EF0 hydraulic brake servo limit reached is logged in the brakes control unit and the brake control unit is permanently deactivated. After testing, it is confirmed that a complete ABS control unit (J104) and hydraulic part must be replaced.

upload_2020-8-21_15-56-36.png


The quote was a bit of a shock. This unit alone is apparently £2000.

Presumably because they'd tried to clear the codes, the dasboard now shows "brakes: error. Please stop safely". Different to when I took it in.

I bought a second hand module, all compatible numbers, model, revision etc. Confirmed as tested and working.

Took it to my local independent who kindly offered to fit the part I supplied.
They has suspicion that the ABS unit on this model has a one-time programmable VIN entry. So you can't swap ABS units between cars.

I've attached a screenshot of the error they get when trying to program the controller.

Capture.JPG


So basically, is this really true? Is it impossible to reprogram the VIN on an ABS module and fit a used part?

Sorry for the long thread. Any pointers are much appreciated. If a £2700 bill is my only option then so be it. It just want to check first.
 

DJAlix

VAG Car Coding™ Limited
Site Sponsor
VCDS Map User
Gold Supporter
VAG Can Professional
ODIS (Offboard Diagnostic System)
Used module can be used but part number needed to be like for like, or in the vehicles design database as compatible. Official VW Group service tool has to be used to code online.
 

shope

Registered User
Thanks for the reply. Much appreciated. So it looks like main dealer is the only option then. Cheers.
 

DJAlix

VAG Car Coding™ Limited
Site Sponsor
VCDS Map User
Gold Supporter
VAG Can Professional
ODIS (Offboard Diagnostic System)
Thanks for the reply. Much appreciated. So it looks like main dealer is the only option then. Cheers.
Or an authorised 3rd party.... such as myself :) Am based in London.
 

shope

Registered User
I'd very much like to hear more. Is it ok to send you a couple of photos: The serial numbers etc on the unit that is fitted and the spare I've purchased. Just to make sure I have a compatible spare? I'll check out your site and get in touch.
 

DJAlix

VAG Car Coding™ Limited
Site Sponsor
VCDS Map User
Gold Supporter
VAG Can Professional
ODIS (Offboard Diagnostic System)
I'd very much like to hear more. Is it ok to send you a couple of photos: The serial numbers etc on the unit that is fitted and the spare I've purchased. Just to make sure I have a compatible spare? I'll check out your site and get in touch.
Can drop me a message here also
 

ian.f

Registered User
Hi,
Sorry to chip in...I’m having the same issue. Currently sorting with my 3rd party warranty company and Halfords (the authorised repairer).
Has this all been sorted? And how much is the cost?
Thanks
 

Matt S35S

New Member
Hi guys,

Got the same problem on my Audi A4 TDI 2016. I can't believe that the pump itself has been damaged. It must be an electronic program and be connected with the fact that this unit gets a fault once it reaches 20 logs of the pressure sensor.

Also, this is quite premature as my car is 4 years old and has 45k miles only.

Please help! Can't afford to spend £3k on that.
 

ian.f

Registered User
So my issue was clarified; ABS pressure sensor was faulty. Changed quite easily apparently.
The knock on problem now is, the ABS pump has recorded some sort of failure due to this. And the only way this can be sorted is to replace the pump.

I’m trying to get a more technical explanation for the garage I used so we can get this going on here.
The garage I used explained that this is due to the new braking systems on all VAGs. He said something 9, but I can’t recall as I was dying on the floor at the time!
Aparently the issue will become common on all new VAGs from 2016 onwards.

This being the case, I wonder if anyone on here who works for VAG could shed some light on this?

Edit: my motor is a 2016 Avant S-Line 190. Fault occurred at 45k. Coincidence?!
 

Matt S35S

New Member
So my issue was clarified; ABS pressure sensor was faulty. Changed quite easily apparently.
The knock on problem now is, the ABS pump has recorded some sort of failure due to this. And the only way this can be sorted is to replace the pump.

I’m trying to get a more technical explanation for the garage I used so we can get this going on here.
The garage I used explained that this is due to the new braking systems on all VAGs. He said something 9, but I can’t recall as I was dying on the floor at the time!
Aparently the issue will become common on all new VAGs from 2016 onwards.

This being the case, I wonder if anyone on here who works for VAG could shed some light on this?

Edit: my motor is a 2016 Avant S-Line 190. Fault occurred at 45k. Coincidence?!

Thanks Ian for your input. It is strange to get these type of problem such as a low mileage though.

Did you end up paying the full price of a new pump?

I am considering to send the pump over to a company called Ecutesting.
https://www.ecutesting.com/categories/abs-pump-modules/abs-pump-units/

They've never work on this model yet but they are willing to have a look at it, and they seem quite professional. Perhaps they can shine some light too.

Just need to get someone to take the unit off my car and willing to reinstall the "rebuilt one", if Ecutesting can rebuilt it (that'd be confirmed at the diagnostic stage).

Does anyone one knows a garage near Evesham that would be willing to take the unit off, etc..?

Kind regards
Matt
 

ian.f

Registered User
Hi Guys,
Sorry for late reply!
I haven’t had the unit fixed or replaced. So I’m getting the brakes warning every time the motor starts (inc start/stop!).

Has anyone progressed any further with this? Really really don’t want to have to come up with 3k to get it replaced.
Can units be re-coded do we think?
 

flo333

New Member
Hi everyone. Who can help me with the same issue? I'm located in Scotland and can not find any garage near me who is able to fix this problem. Audi A4 B9 8W0 66plate 1.4tfsi
Vcds shows :
15381504 - Bulb for Parking Light: Hydraulic Brake Boost
C123E F0 [173] - Limit Value Reached
Breaking presure sensor g608 replaced by service, all problems gone but red warning light remain too expensive to let the service do this.
Any sugestions welcome, thanks for interest.
 

DJAlix

VAG Car Coding™ Limited
Site Sponsor
VCDS Map User
Gold Supporter
VAG Can Professional
ODIS (Offboard Diagnostic System)
Hi everyone. Who can help me with the same issue? I'm located in Scotland and can not find any garage near me who is able to fix this problem. Audi A4 B9 8W0 66plate 1.4tfsi
Vcds shows :
15381504 - Bulb for Parking Light: Hydraulic Brake Boost
C123E F0 [173] - Limit Value Reached
Breaking presure sensor g608 replaced by service, all problems gone but red warning light remain too expensive to let the service do this.
Any sugestions welcome, thanks for interest.
DH Automotive in Falkirk.
 

Matt S35S

New Member
Here is a quick follow up on the situation.
My VW Audi independent specialist confirmed that these ABS unit can't be rebuilt. No one came across this type of unit (yet).

A second hand one can't be reprogrammed either. I am thinking of filing a complaint to Audi head office. Might be worth joining our effort together, and perhaps help the future owners.

The case is simple enough to raise in my opinion.

1- All of us started to get the first fault caused by lost of pressure / faulty pressure sensor of the ABS sensor.

The fault message in dashboard clearly state to "contact workshop and continue driving".

2- After a period of time, this fault is overwritten by "servo brake fault, stop vehicle safely". In other words, the ABS Unit has failed at this stage.

Audi dealers have confirmed that the ABS unit will fail after the fault message described in point 1 is logged over 20 times.

Our case is simple. Audi fault message 1 is misleading there customers (Audi owners) as it actually tells us to keep driving, which then result in getting multiple logs of this fault and failling the entire unit.

It took me 2 weeks to get a spot at my local garage, hence that fault #2 got triggered even before I got the chance to get it in for a diagnosis.

Anyone once to join me and start a complaint?
 

flo333

New Member
Yes I'm willing to join but need your help with this step by step.
Had the same fault appears when I've been abroad on holiday, unfortunately unable to fix abroad due to part g608 not in stock at local service so back to Scotland but before get there fault appeared. Audi Hamilton changed the sensor charged me for that but car returned with fault on dashboard.
I've had these two warnings when car engine start.
 

Attachments

  • 20200608_134641_HDR.jpg
    20200608_134641_HDR.jpg
    462.6 KB · Views: 55
  • 20200608_134647_HDR.jpg
    20200608_134647_HDR.jpg
    442.8 KB · Views: 55

flo333

New Member
Another investigation offered with newer equipment. But I found exactly the same part on trusted abroad auction portal but it came off an A4 but 2.0tfsi Quattro automatic gearbox so it's different spec than mine.
Can it be fitted and coded in successfully?
 

Matt S35S

New Member
Hi Flo333,
You are describing exactly the same problem I had in a similar situation.

Unfortunately, no ABS unit can be swapped between cars as the VIN isn't re-programmable. In other words, the only way to fix it is to buy a brand new ABS module.

I've spoken to Audi UK and the investigation is being processed. Audi Cheltenham called me as part of the investigation and he sort of agree that this could be down to a poor design and will report our discussion we had today, to Audi UK.

Will hopefully hear back from them this week. I have a requested Audi to contribute towards the cost of fixing this.

I will post back here once I get an agreement (if there is one). This way you won't have to go through the same pain as me if this isn't working and perhaps launch a bigger complain all together.

I think there is a solid case for recall here. Just need to be patient.
 

flo333

New Member
Hi, good to know. But as far as I know module is replaceable with pump, I'm taking a part in polish A4 club discussion and some guys confirmed replacing second hand pump including module. Not many independent mechanics can handle this but it's possible. Only all numbers must be the same so hard to find proper one due to lack of broken cars on the market.
I'd go to holiday there but f..... restrictions.
 

Matt S35S

New Member
I see. I couldn't find someone in the UK being able to find a second hand replacement and willing to recode it.

And they can't find a rebuilt kit for it either...
 

Matt S35S

New Member
Hi flo333.

I did called them a month or so ago and they said they've never come across this model so they were not sure about it. However, they were keen to try as long as the shipping cost was covered by myself (which is fair enough).

Please let me know how it goes.

From my end, Audi UK decline to provide any sort of support what so ever (not surprising).

Good luck!
 

flo333

New Member
Well it seems my model is supported it's offered on their website anyway so I hope they had some experience and will be able to remove this stupid fault, that is how car dealers treating us their customers only pay for service no independent repair allowed.
 

Matt S35S

New Member
Hey Flo,

What Audi have you got? Is it a 2.0 TDI A4 2016?

Could you share with me your ABS pump module part number?

I've attached a picture of the ABS pump module that's on my car.

The part you shared from ECUTesting ends with "G" but mine ends up with "J".
 

Attachments

  • IMG_20201111_162648.jpg
    IMG_20201111_162648.jpg
    1.8 MB · Views: 50

flo333

New Member
No mate your module ends with "e" the top serial number is important and the link I've attached is for that part exactly. You can send them that picture and they will answer to you. I've done it that way and received that link.
My A4 is 1.4tfsi but it is not important it depends of car spec like hill hold, Audi presence etc. My is
 

Attachments

  • 20200914_122546_HDR.jpg
    20200914_122546_HDR.jpg
    1.8 MB · Views: 44

Matt S35S

New Member
You are totally right mate. I've contacted EcuTesting again, through their live chat, but the guy said again the same thing as he did months ago "never seen this model". I shared the link you sent me and he responded that it was on his database and he will be contacting his IT to sort this out.

Thanks mate. So glad we spoke about it here. I'll engage with my VW Audi independent garage and tell them to get in touch with them.

Fingers crossed!
 

Matt S35S

New Member
Sorry, meant to say the tech support on live chat was an idiot saying that this model was missing in his database. Hence I never went further with them.
 

Matt S35S

New Member
Hey flo33,
Any news on your pump rebuilt from ECUTesting?

Got mine over there at the moment and awaiting their response.
 

flo333

New Member
Hey flo33,
Any news on your pump rebuilt from ECUTesting?

Got mine over there at the moment and awaiting their response.
Not yet, I commuting so need the car everyday, however I'll get my wife car coming week so plan is to order repair then, my friend already use ecutesting for abs units repair and he recommend them. Cross fingers it won't be hard to put it back. I wonder how to bleed brakes after install unit with vcds, any experience?
 

Matt S35S

New Member
Not yet, I commuting so need the car everyday, however I'll get my wife car coming week so plan is to order repair then, my friend already use ecutesting for abs units repair and he recommend them. Cross fingers it won't be hard to put it back. I wonder how to bleed brakes after install unit with vcds, any experience?

Sorry, no idea. I am using David Lees Motor Engineering to sort this out.
On the good side, just spoken with ECUTesting and my garage and turns out that they (ECUTesting) managed to clear out all the faults. My mechabic will work on putting this back together and will let me know next week if the issue is sorted. Can't wait to get my car back.
 

Matt S35S

New Member
Hi everyone,

Finally got my car back. I confirm that ECUTesting have managed to clear all faults on the ABS unit for a pleasant £250.00.

My total bill was £765.00, which include the pump unit repair, 3rd party pump testing, brake fluid replace, pressure sensor replacement (which was the initial root cause of all problems) and garage labour to carry out all work.

Audi quote was £3100.00 (without replacing pressure sensor)

My garage quoted initially against Audi and came @ £2750.00 before accepting to go down the route of ECUTesting

For a total saving of about £2k.
Big thank you to ECUTesting and also my garage David Lees Motor Engineering (VW Audi independent specialist).

Hope you all get the same result.
Good luck!
 

flo333

New Member
Hi, my unit also fixed by ecutesting, no faults but have problem with brake pedal, bleeding brakes done with vcds at 03abs, security access 40168 then basic settings and preparation (all systems off) then front brakes, rear brakes, end (all systems on) brake pedal hard but when engine start pedal goes down and it's soft, brakes works and no errors but don't know how to make brake pedal go up and stay hard. Any suggestions?
 

Matt S35S

New Member
Hi, my unit also fixed by ecutesting, no faults but have problem with brake pedal, bleeding brakes done with vcds at 03abs, security access 40168 then basic settings and preparation (all systems off) then front brakes, rear brakes, end (all systems on) brake pedal hard but when engine start pedal goes down and it's soft, brakes works and no errors but don't know how to make brake pedal go up and stay hard. Any suggestions?

Sorry mate, no clue about that. That is why I used a garage. Hope this works out ok for you.
 

ian.f

Registered User
Hi Guys,
Catching up with this after busy few months.

So, I’ve had my module replaced, which solved the initial braking issue I had. The car now brakes witching normal operating parameters.
But, I still have the red warning and error in dash each time the car starts.

Finally got my car back. I confirm that ECUTesting have managed to clear all faults on the ABS unit for a pleasant £250.00.

Matt - do I read this right that ECU testing can solve this completely?

Cheers Guys
 

Matt S35S

New Member
Hi Guys,
Catching up with this after busy few months.

So, I’ve had my module replaced, which solved the initial braking issue I had. The car now brakes witching normal operating parameters.
But, I still have the red warning and error in dash each time the car starts.



Matt - do I read this right that ECU testing can solve this completely?

Cheers Guys
Hi Ian,
Did you replace the module yourself or with a garage?

ECUTesting are usially capable of clearing faults and re-establishing the original code. They are quite honest so far and won't charge you anything beside shipping cost, if they can't fix it. They are not a garage, so you will have to send the pump module to them via UPS, FEDEX or whatever.
They fixed mine in no time and work fine since then. Contact them. It is worth it.

Regards
Matt
 

ian.f

Registered User
Hi Ian,
Did you replace the module yourself or with a garage?

ECUTesting are usially capable of clearing faults and re-establishing the original code. They are quite honest so far and won't charge you anything beside shipping cost, if they can't fix it. They are not a garage, so you will have to send the pump module to them via UPS, FEDEX or whatever.
They fixed mine in no time and work fine since then. Contact them. It is worth it.

Regards
Matt
Thanks Matt. A garage replaced my module and sorted everything they could.
Thanks for the info, I’ll give ECU testing a shout.
Do you have a reference or something that i could quote to help them understand my issue is the same as yours?
Thanks!
 

Matt S35S

New Member
Thanks Matt. A garage replaced my module and sorted everything they could.
Thanks for the info, I’ll give ECU testing a shout.
Do you have a reference or something that i could quote to help them understand my issue is the same as yours?
Thanks!
Just provide them the error code and explain them over the phone. At the end, they will probably ask you to send the pump so that they can look themselves

Your pump model number and car details would be good to have in hand before calling them.

Good luck.
 

InvincibleA3

Registered User
Ive been a victim
Of the ABS pump :(

pressure sensor replaced - stop start working.

the Brake faulty exist and the code does also: c123efo
 
Top