S-Tronic / Engine holding back

Tekneq

Reaction score
Hi,

Newbie here so I apologise for my lack of knowledge !

Recently bought a 8P 3.2 Sportback 2005 with S-Tronic, 45k on the clock.

First few weeks of ownership went well but it seems to have developed a strange problem, when cruising at say 60mph and attempting to accelerate slightly the car feels like it's holding back, so the engine note changes slightly but it does not really pick-up well. If you push harder on the loud pedal then eventually the gearbox drops down a gear and it seems to spring into life but still feels slow in accelerating compared to how it was previously. The S-Tronic kick down also seem lazy and slow to react, I really hope this is not a pointing toward a gearbox issue ! Any help appreciated...

Has the car been scanned with VCDS?

Kick down is a bit lazy and for quick getaways it's best to knock it down a couple of gears using the paddles or manual mode.

It is a characteristic of any auto box. If you accelerate moderately, the box drops down a gear and if you then ease of the throttle the box straight away the box will shift up again, hence the sluggish feel. The more gears that are in the box the more this happens. Drive a modern 7 speeder on a seemingly flat road, on a constant throttle position and they can change gears up and down all the time.
Try in 'S' mode, the kick down should work straight away. If you know someone else with a DSG/STronic box, have them drive yours so they can compare.
The gear oil &filter should have been changed at least once in it's life, if you are not sure, have it done. Oil is an important component of any auto box.

That's true but the kick down of DSG is lazy, especially compared to how quickly it can do everything else.