s4 problems

ljames

Reaction score
hey not sure if anyone can help.my mate has got a s4,and we are having a few problems with it.I have a full legal vag com:happy: and plugged it in and getting these fault codes..
17861 exhaust gas temp sensor 1,open or short
17865 exhaust gas temp sensor 2 open or short
17965 charge pressure control,positive deviation,i know this means over boost.

now the car runs fine when idleing but under accleration,it holds back and pushes and shoves,like theres no fuel.I am no expert on the vag com,and dont know what figures i should be getting via boost pressure etc.any help from any one would be really appriciated,thanks leighton

I concur! Boost leak, commonly split throttle body boot, but check all your hoses anyway, and a new pair of audi's finest most expensive EGT sensors, it'll be like driving a new car with them sorted!

leighton i had the same problems with mine a month ago, mine were lamba sensors an like you said it was ok idle but when accelerated felt like no fuel was getting through, got a new lamba sensor on and it needed a new dump valve and after that she is fine so id defo get them EGT sensors on it, not sure bout the other problem though.

where bouts you from in south wales mate

thanks for the reply guys! iam the leightons mate with the s4. i ve done a lot of reserch on this problem, and it looks like new EGT sensors is the answer!. but dont know where to get them from?? any ideas??
P.S. we are from bridgend.

I'd be checking your MAF as well to be honest. If that's gone, it can knacker your EGT sensors because the car runs too lean.

Disconnect your MAF, clear the codes on Vagcom and go for a drive to see if it's running smoother. After a decent drive, check for codes again and post up what you get.