Weird Noise Coming From S3

Hwke

Reaction score
Hi guys,

I’m new to having an S3 after coming from a Polo GTI 6c a few months ago so please bear with us. Recently I have noticed a weird noise coming from what seems to be the rear of my car, it was very intermittent only happening every now and then but I could guarantee it would happen every time I would drive the car. I revved my car earlier when at a standstill earlier and heard the same exact noise and I have no idea what it could be. I’m leaning towards something Haldex/Diff related but I’m not sure. Although a slightly different set up my dad has a MK7.5 Golf R and it doesn’t make a noise anything like that. Any help would be appreciated!

Hard to tell,at first i thought it was a rattling exhaust baffle but the more i listen it sounds like a pump.

Have you had the haldex serviced lately?

Hard to tell,at first i thought it was a rattling exhaust baffle but the more i listen it sounds like a pump.

Have you had the haldex serviced lately?
The Haldex was serviced by Bath Audi on 25/11/19 at 23,449 miles by the previous owner. I’m currently sat at just under 30,000 and haven’t given the car a hard time at all.

I had a similar issue but not when parked. when driving I would hear that same whiney noise...though not as loud. Audi changed haldex and rear diff which fixed the issue.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

The Haldex was serviced by Bath Audi on 25/11/19 at 23,449 miles by the previous owner. I’m currently sat at just under 30,000 and haven’t given the car a hard time at all.

Note that Audi will only have changed the oil, not cleaned the filter, they consider it unnecessary. I'd suggest that you get a local VAG indie to service it again - and make sure to ask that they clean the filter.

I had a similar issue but not when parked. when driving I would hear that same whiney noise...though not as loud. Audi changed haldex and rear diff which fixed the issue.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk