What have you done to your A3 (8p) this week

phateuk

Registered User
Not sure what the difference is between the vis/autotech internals vs. The apr one either

Sent from my SM-N976B using Tapatalk
Well, the Auto-Tech internals are a decent option from what I know but it's not going to be as good as the APR HPFP which is the most expensive HPFP available for the S3 so it should in theory be capable of higher fuel rail pressure than just the internals..
 

e9_mustii

Registered User
Well, the Auto-Tech internals are a decent option from what I know but it's not going to be as good as the APR HPFP which is the most expensive HPFP available for the S3 so it should in theory be capable of higher fuel rail pressure than just the internals..
Yea definitely keep me in the loop cause im in there 2-3 weeks after so i can make a few changes, im also have the walnut blast and runner flaps deleted whilst the rocker cover/heads coming off just things to do whilst half of the process is already done

Sent from my SM-N976B using Tapatalk
 

phateuk

Registered User
Yea definitely keep me in the loop cause im in there 2-3 weeks after so i can make a few changes, im also have the walnut blast and runner flaps deleted whilst the rocker cover/heads coming off just things to do whilst half of the process is already done

Sent from my SM-N976B using Tapatalk
Yeah man will do. Really not sure about the runner flap delete, I wasn't planning on getting it done but wondering if I should
 

e9_mustii

Registered User
Yeah man will do. Really not sure about the runner flap delete, I wasn't planning on getting it done but wondering if I should
Well ive seen people remove the head and its becoming brittle as its plastic(typical) and just fall into the cylinder and get eaten lol which id rather not have or risk having in the future, dont know if ill ever go big turbo, as idnrather get an r35 GTR after ive bought my house and got my wedding sorted

Sent from my SM-N976B using Tapatalk
 

Troubs12

Active Member
VCDS Map User
After 201,000 the radiator decided enough was enough. Can’t blame it really I would have given out long before that haha.

Though I’ve starting hearing the fatal turbo bearing whine so along with the clutch and flywheel I’ve got to do next week I’ll take a look at that too.

I have noticed though after my last oil change it started to get worse then realised that vag are now using Shell for oil and they go off “first fill” for specs so I’m gonna get that 0w30 oil out as at 201,000 she needs something abit thicker (obviously meeting specs of course)


956cb7afc042e4358cacadcc2441df09.jpg

9849397f0f331cfcf3f227fc54607105.jpg



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 

samisnake

Registered User
had to replace the rear wiper motor. wiper arm stuck in the up position.
werent gonna get a a chinese one off ebay, but wasnt gonna pay £65 for a new valeo. so ordered a used valeo for £20 posted on ebay. date stamp on it says 2014, the one on my car said 2010. so if i get 4 years out of it, im happy with that.
 

Troubs12

Active Member
VCDS Map User
had to replace the rear wiper motor. wiper arm stuck in the up position.
werent gonna get a a chinese one off ebay, but wasnt gonna pay £65 for a new valeo. so ordered a used valeo for £20 posted on ebay. date stamp on it says 2014, the one on my car said 2010. so if i get 4 years out of it, im happy with that.

I’m still on my original 2004 so one I can’t believe it’s still going. Too be fair it’ll probably fail tomorrow now


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 

Troubs12

Active Member
VCDS Map User
My little list of jobs was interrupted my elbow surgery. I was able to finish is all this week so I started this a few weeks ago but today I completed:

Clutch and flywheel,
Turbo strip, clean and rebuild,
Oil change as I think the new 0w30 from shell done my 200,000 turbo in. So now running on 5w40 vw505.01
Replaced both intercooler boost pipes,
Finally got the oil leak around the egr valve sorted.

It was a typical ah found a small problem that lead to another and another though the clutch and flywheel was more of well it’s on stands and I have one.

Stay tuned for more work inside the car coming soon lol


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 

Troubs12

Active Member
VCDS Map User
My little list of jobs was interrupted my elbow surgery. I was able to finish is all this week so I started this a few weeks ago but today I completed:

Clutch and flywheel,
Turbo strip, clean and rebuild,
Oil change as I think the new 0w30 from shell done my 200,000 turbo in. So now running on 5w40 vw505.01
Replaced both intercooler boost pipes,
Finally got the oil leak around the egr valve sorted.

It was a typical ah found a small problem that lead to another and another though the clutch and flywheel was more of well it’s on stands and I have one.

Stay tuned for more work inside the car coming soon lol


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Forgot to add gearbox oil change. I know it’s a fill for life however I figured 201,000 it deserved a change


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 

Audi A3 S-Line 8p tdi

Registered User
View attachment 131970
Decided to do the cam belt and water pump on my facelift 2008 s line tdi yesterday, I found it a bit less fiddly on the common rail engine than my older 2005 A3 View attachment 131974
View attachment 131975

When I lowered the under tray I found this spring View attachment 131976
But couldn't find where it had come from , it was located at the back of the tray gearbox side . Any ideas ?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Where to start, been busy the last couple of weeks. Cat back exhaust system, rear brake calliper rebuild +pads and abs sensors, Oil Change with filter, fuel filter, thermostat, Both coolant sensors, rocker cover gasket, removed and cleaned all boost and intake pipes. Mass flow sensor cleaned, removed egr valve and intake manifold and cleaned them. And finally I replaced the complete fan unit.

I done all of this because my fans were running all of the time.
And guess what they still are and my dash isit up like a Christmas tree. Don't you just love moder cars.

Now to delete the codes and see how many problems I have actually fixed.

Wish me luck
 

theViTALiTY

Registered User
Yeah I phoned TPS and got some genuine oil there’s so many different choices I didn’t want to risk it.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Went to the stealership the other day, quoted me something like 70 euros per 1l for transmission oil, and something around 60 euros for haldex oil. Shocked nonetheless.
 

phateuk

Registered User
Well not this week but 2 weeks ago, I think.
Had auto lights/wipers and dimming rear view mirror fitted by @NHN. Took a while due to back order parts but got there in the end and happy with the result.
How much is this all in out of interest? I assume you need a new windscreen with the sensors for this also?
 

Troubs12

Active Member
VCDS Map User
You prefer it? Is it too bright or just perfect?

It’s just perfect too be honest the interior light switches and led downlighting is a little too bright but I’m going to pop a film in there to dampen it a little. The 0805 smd’s are perfect light so the steering wheel, dash buttons, rnse and light switch (dial part) are fine but the interior light, light switch (roller switch part) are conventional leds and are a bit too bright. But I reckon if I pop a small bit of window tint or something along those lines in that should soften it enough.

I’ve done my q3 heater controls ready to go but as mines an 04 I need to tweak the wiring slightly so that they actually work properly.

Doors are next lol


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 

Troubs12

Active Member
VCDS Map User
Actually just want to search out abit of public opinion. The Q3 heater controls have 3 red leds to denote when the heaters are on. I’m wondering to leave these red or change them for orange ones? I’m thinking orange as that’s why the heated rear screen on is as well as the front. I’m thinking as they are heating elements it kinda goes and I’m thinking red would kind of be out of place now with the rest of the lighting being white. What are your guys thoughts red or orange? Or indeed white but that might be too much


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 

MT-V6

Registered User
Actually just want to search out abit of public opinion. The Q3 heater controls have 3 red leds to denote when the heaters are on. I’m wondering to leave these red or change them for orange ones? I’m thinking orange as that’s why the heated rear screen on is as well as the front. I’m thinking as they are heating elements it kinda goes and I’m thinking red would kind of be out of place now with the rest of the lighting being white. What are your guys thoughts red or orange? Or indeed white but that might be too much


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Looking really good. I'd say keep them red if that's what they are like on the Q3. I assume the Q3 has a white dash so it would look OEM like that. It really freshens up the interior. As for the bright LEDs, I think putting film in front might make them a bit dull instead of crisp white, might be worth sourcing some LEDs that are not so bright. I believe the measurement for brightness is MCD
 

JayA3sline

Well-Known Member
VCDS Map User
3033dc22a68f7faa3438cc87aa934b2d.jpg


I used SMDs for my cabin throughout, including Q3 climate unit. Kept red to match the red touches in my RS. My cabin has changed a little bit since this as I have dechromed EVERYTHING…. And changed the stitching from silver to red throughout.

b361e104446210ea0287e8a34b8f6734.jpg
 

Troubs12

Active Member
VCDS Map User
3033dc22a68f7faa3438cc87aa934b2d.jpg


I used SMDs for my cabin throughout, including Q3 climate unit. Kept red to match the red touches in my RS. My cabin has changed a little bit since this as I have dechromed EVERYTHING…. And changed the stitching from silver to red throughout.

b361e104446210ea0287e8a34b8f6734.jpg

Awesome it’s nice to know I’m not the only one on here that knows what a pain the rnse is to change the smd’s haha. It does look so much better. The trouble it I got a fresh batch of smd’s from my supplier to finish the q3 controls and the colours different/better so now I need to do it all again just out of interest how have you got the audio input setup on the rnse in the second pic?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 

JayA3sline

Well-Known Member
VCDS Map User
Awesome it’s nice to know I’m not the only one on here that knows what a pain the rnse is to change the smd’s haha. It does look so much better. The trouble it I got a fresh batch of smd’s from my supplier to finish the q3 controls and the colours different/better so now I need to do it all again just out of interest how have you got the audio input setup on the rnse in the second pic?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

My mates project was integrating Apple wireless/wired carplay whilst keeping all the oem functions eg Audi handsfree. The screen is touchscreen as well. Obviously being android based comes with other apps like YouTube, internet etc. He’ll be bringing this kit to the market soon as a kit. So watch this space. Unlike other android alternatives eg Xtrons units that struggle with the bose systems you end up compromising sound for volume. This system keeps all the Audi system & functions with the added benefit of carplay running through it. I would upload a video of it in action but I can’t upload videos. Add me on Instagram for a demo: Jay_rs3
 

George Kost

Registered User
My mates project was integrating Apple wireless/wired carplay whilst keeping all the oem functions eg Audi handsfree. The screen is touchscreen as well. Obviously being android based comes with other apps like YouTube, internet etc. He’ll be bringing this kit to the market soon as a kit. So watch this space. Unlike other android alternatives eg Xtrons units that struggle with the bose systems you end up compromising sound for volume. This system keeps all the Audi system & functions with the added benefit of carplay running through it. I would upload a video of it in action but I can’t upload videos. Add me on Instagram for a demo: Jay_rs3
Saw yours and the creators Instagram pages! Amazing!
I would love car play but don’t like xtrons and similar because they don’t show the OPS screen for the parking sensors.
I liked the RNS-E 193 version but didn’t had car play.
So for now I still have the basic concert radio.
Do you know when his kits might me available?
 

JayA3sline

Well-Known Member
VCDS Map User
Saw yours and the creators Instagram pages! Amazing!
I would love car play but don’t like xtrons and similar because they don’t show the OPS screen for the parking sensors.
I liked the RNS-E 193 version but didn’t had car play.
So for now I still have the basic concert radio.
Do you know when his kits might me available?

That’s another good thing about this you can have a oem reverse camera which auto switches and shows on the RNSe too. I don’t have front sensors so I can’t comment on the OPS overlay but I’m pretty sure it will be doable as it maintains all oem functions.

Kits will be available soon. They are in the final stages.
 

Troubs12

Active Member
VCDS Map User
My mates project was integrating Apple wireless/wired carplay whilst keeping all the oem functions eg Audi handsfree. The screen is touchscreen as well. Obviously being android based comes with other apps like YouTube, internet etc. He’ll be bringing this kit to the market soon as a kit. So watch this space. Unlike other android alternatives eg Xtrons units that struggle with the bose systems you end up compromising sound for volume. This system keeps all the Audi system & functions with the added benefit of carplay running through it. I would upload a video of it in action but I can’t upload videos. Add me on Instagram for a demo: Jay_rs3

Definitely interested in this but I’ve a feeling it goes through the tv input which I’d have to think of a work around. Not that I use my tv in the car much but it’s nice to have. Though now I mention it the tv input has two extra inputs. I do like the idea of apple CarPlay


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 

Troubs12

Active Member
VCDS Map User
In the middle of R&D’ing to see if blind spot assist is a possibility on my 8P and finally got around to changing my electric dumbo mirrors for fold up electric mirrors. Also put the sweeping indicator lens in too

90c60cb5e61c97f46dc0b4eb22061b8c.jpg



e5eb9b8c5b4bb273c7bdd3412b142187.jpg



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 

George Kost

Registered User
In the middle of R&D’ing to see if blind spot assist is a possibility on my 8P and finally got around to changing my electric dumbo mirrors for fold up electric mirrors. Also put the sweeping indicator lens in too

90c60cb5e61c97f46dc0b4eb22061b8c.jpg



e5eb9b8c5b4bb273c7bdd3412b142187.jpg



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Dude I want the blind spot so bad! Keep as updated how it goes!
What is it needed? The two bumper sensors, wiring, mirror caps with leds for sure. Also a different gateway that supports blind spot?
The dynamic indicator are nice! I have done it! But they don’t light up at the part you see from the inside at the edge. Mine didn’t. No big deal.
Also I was thinking that for better visibility to add some kind of bulb not on the mirror but inside the car on the small black triangles that you see. Easier wiring as well. Not oem though.
 

Troubs12

Active Member
VCDS Map User
Dude I want the blind spot so bad! Keep as updated how it goes!
What is it needed? The two bumper sensors, wiring, mirror caps with leds for sure. Also a different gateway that supports blind spot?
The dynamic indicator are nice! I have done it! But they don’t light up at the part you see from the inside at the edge. Mine didn’t. No big deal.
Also I was thinking that for better visibility to add some kind of bulb not on the mirror but inside the car on the small black triangles that you see. Easier wiring as well. Not oem though.

Will do bud I’m not sure if the current gateway supports it or not but I’ll double check when I get around to fitting the wiring looms, sensors etc. I’ve got the rear bumper sensors, brackets, wiring loom, mirror caps and mirror leds and need to set aside some play time and get cracking.

Yeah the dynamic indicators I had on the dumbo ones don’t light up on the bit you can see but these B8.5 ones do I was really happy to see it again.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 

Troubs12

Active Member
VCDS Map User
Nice! Did the mirrors fit directly or did you have to modify anything? I'm very interested in how you get on

The mirror caps are the same as the A5, A4 etc but on the other models you have an option for blind spot assist so I ordered the caps for a A5 with Blond spot and the leds etc and had to run an extra two wires in the mirror for the leds I haven’t wired the rest of the car yet so it could be an expensive gamble as the parts aren’t cheap but I do tend to jump all in and hope haha.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 

MT-V6

Registered User
Fair play, it's the only way when you are a pioneer worst case you can always sell the parts

That's lucky that the A5 caps are compatible with the A3. If this all works I'll have to be creative for the TT
 
Top