What have you done today?

Stacey896

Registered User
Currently giving the back of the boot liner the royal treatment!! #seewhatididthere


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 

samurai

Registered User
Saturday was a green day .... grinch was born again christmas watch out .... lol
hghghgzt-004.jpg


hghghgzt-005.jpg
 

<tuffty/>

Badger 5 Edition...Its all about the flow...
Staff member
Moderator

Stuart B

Registered User
Did you replace the gear selector you had on with an OEM version?

upload_2017-12-6_9-8-59.png


Where are the dyno updates in "Not Another Nogaro" have they finished tinkering?
 

IPG

Registered User
Remember this post in your build thread?



Sorry dude...

<tuffty/>
LOL

you cursed me!

This is on the daily so... i'm public transporting till i can get the shifter cable ends from dieselgeek.


Did you replace the gear selector you had on with an OEM version?

View attachment 143258

Where are the dyno updates in "Not Another Nogaro" have they finished tinkering?
Updates coming soon - hands are going to be quite full this weekend!!!
 

Dohcwp

Setting the Standard
bought a new dremel since i killed my old one

and took a swing at an 8p key conversion

i had to literally break the old switchblade to get the blade out

IMG-20171207-WA0006.jpg


the i hammered the blade into the new switchblade, yes hammered as it is quite a stiff fit luckily nothing broke

IMG-20171207-WA0004.jpg

IMG-20171207-WA0005.jpg



Noticed the 8p keyfob has a hole for an led so i decided to utilise it, when you press the fob the led lights up

IMG-20171207-WA0001.jpg



IMG-20171207-WA0002.jpg


IMG-20171207-WA0003.jpg


you have to cut the 8l pcb in certain areas to get it to fit and then glue it in place

IMG-20171207-WA0000.jpg


the finished product

IMG-20171207-WA0007.jpg
 
Last edited:

Dohcwp

Setting the Standard
Looks good. Did you have any problems getting the old transponder out? Broke mine trying to get it out :angry:

i ordered a new one when i did my cluster swap a few years ago as i struggled to code the old one to the cluster. new one i didnt glue like oem (i just taped it to stay in place)
 

Stuart B

Registered User
Oil and Filter change the DIS was saying SERVICE! I need a new sump as I have to put additional washers on the sump plug and include "fernex" sealant on the plug and leave for 2 hours before filling with oil.

but...
I am due to do a compression test - will do tomorrow
I used engine flush and noticed I had foam in the water expansion tank after changing oil !!!! ALERT !!!! <-- radweld maybe too :)
I have a thermostat to replace but it looks like a pig of a job especially when, there is loads of stuff I want to watch on TV!
the little previously noisy electric pump has stopped running at all let alone for 10 minutes after the engine has been switched off.

but it good news my MAF reading this morning was 226 g/s at 6500 RPM - that is maxed out and borderline (or the new MAF sensor is rubbish)

so in summary, my car is puffing smoke from dip stick, is running fantastically, even though I think the head gasket is iffy, I love this confused junk.
 

Tj 0785

Well-Known Member
VCDS Map User
so in summary, my car is puffing smoke from dip stick, is running fantastically, even though I think the head gasket is iffy, I love this confused junk.
This is exactly what happened with mine. Still ran good and still pull’d hard through the revs like you smile came out off the dipstick if I booted it I got a funny feeling your not going to like your test results
 

Stuart B

Registered User
hence why I haven't done it yet, I wont fix it - so it would just be for information. if it is the head and not the rings then I might look at it at some point?!more likely to sell and get something else.
 

superkarl

MAN OF STEEL

Stuart B

Registered User
I know, but it would be a new energy project - I need to decide whether I continue as is making do / limping on, spend big on this, buy another project or just skip cars and go back to wasting my money on laptops :). I am not patient enough to make a good job of things on cars, I have had enough easy to do fun with the S3 - it's probably been the longest period without any major faults now since the MOT, and I've had some fun with the mapping side of things. My dashboard lamp for main beam doesn't work (well is really dim) and the switch illumination doesn't work properly (intermittent).

My problem is when it comes to selling - I don't have a "rip off" mentality so the ebay advert will be mostly "project, project, project" and I will take the current map off and put on the Stage 1 map it came with, as I reckon this would bend the engine (if not already) if driven hard for longer than an overtake.
 

Stuart B

Registered User
They're no good,I've only got one spare turbo housing for you :blush:
he he - but I have one in my S3 too. so cobble together two broken K04s to go into an S4 along with new RS4 MAFs and silicon pipes front mounted intercoolers and the problems all start again :) :)

I still feel guilty for never picking that up. please let me pay the postage.
 

tcg

Registered User
I think I have enough confidence in my S3,albeit a random stuttering here and there,to deliver it if you ever feel the 'need for speed'.
 

Stuart B

Registered User
I seem to have developed an OCD for scanning my car,more often than looking for my next Ferrari!

don't do it.. I have removed all the tools from my passenger and rear foot-wells, now I know how those "barebackers" in 'Frisco feel like.
 

Joewhyte97

Registered User
Would you buy another or just move on ?

I will probably move on now as alot of them that are forsale are quite high milage, which sort of puts me off buying one, im thinking on getting a 2.0 tdi 8p as i have moved and i am now traveling further to work now so will just be better for me.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 

Tj 0785

Well-Known Member
VCDS Map User
Wish we had snow like that here could have abit of fun in the r32 . Last time we had snow like that was years ago I had mk4 4motion never struggled going past people wheelspinning backwards down hill ha.
 

Stuart B

Registered User
Today I didn't do the compression test - got only 3 of the 4 plugs undone (cylinder 1 was extremely tight - it's always been a hot cylinder where I have had issue's with a misfire on multiple occasions and cylinder 2 - I couldn't get the plug undone using the same tools which undid 3 and 4 easily. rather than struggling and breaking it somehow.. I put it back together again and went to the park with the grandkids to make a snowman.

has anyone ever sprayed something down to help undo the plug - I think it is the grease boiling and bonding the plug - they only went in 6 months ago.

In my head - I think cylinder 1 and cylinder 2 are a problem between each other. This is the head damage I ignored when I change the head gasket.

If you look at the head you can see where the ceramic part of a spark plug (in my avatar) had broken off in cylinder 1, but there is also damage in cylinder 2 which means that some how it travelled in-between cylinder 1 and 2 through the exhaust valves?

IMAG2183_sm.jpg
 
Top