why am i getting such crap MPG lately?

m8arx

Reaction score
my AMK S3 usually gets 25-26mpg average but in the last week it's plummeted to 20-21mpg

i haven't changed my driving style/habits, i never go above 3.5k, always drive slowly and smoothly, using the same petrol station i always do.

what the hell is going on?

before anyone suggests it, i dont have vagcom to log/monitor anything with.

Without Vag com you can only guess and replace parts randomy, or find someone close to you with it that can scan your car but to me it sounds like its our mass air flow meter, im no expert on fault finding so you would definatly need this checked.

without logging the car on vag-com your not really going to find weather theres a fault or not, but could be maf maybe lamba sensor, temp sensor

the MAF on the car is only 5 months old mate - hope to hell it's not this.

was the maf a genuine one as afew people have gone through maf's quite quickly

Thermostat?
Does your temp reach 90 quickly and stay there?

My car used to do 25-26mpg, now on 21.7. Temp hovering at 80 most of the time.
Might replace the stat at the weekend unless there's an Aberdeen ASNer with Vagcom willing to help me out?

JS - no, it heats up slowly as normal, same as it always has.

i've not noticed anything different in the way it drives at all.

the cold weather is interesting, but i don't ever drive the car fast.....it's got to be the slowest driven s3 in the uk lol

Cold weather situations will always use more fuel and needs more as it takes longer to heat up but once up to temp should return normal mpg but overall will use more fuel in winter.

my mate has a leon cupra r and he's averaging 29mpg even in this weather and he drives his full chat a lot of the time - so i'm not sure about the cold weather having THAT much of an effect.

A few possibilities to consider, colder weather, heater on longer, ditto heated seats, wipers. Clocks moved forward so headlights used longer.