PSI for 19"

Djwoody

Reaction score
What pressure do all of you put in your tyres?
I have a 3.0 TDI with 255/35/19.

I know there is a recommended pressure on the door sticker but was just wondering experiences you have had?
Remember someone saying 40psi all round is good

Chris

I keep my car at 36 all round as anything more is far too hard. I sometimes put up to 38 if got
Boot filled with parts...

I'm on 255/35/19 cc3.

I tried 40psi for week, 38psi for week and 36psi for week and the 36 was winner.

Reactions: Djwoody
I have 39 all round and it feels 'nice' plus gives me a good mpg. Any more and it feels a bit too light for my preference

FYI. If your car suffers from the too-light steering that causes constant corrections when driving in a straight line, the pressures I mentioned above "F35-R32" reduce this effect.

Reactions: knight92
Interesting as I would of thought that's rather low, not that I'm an expert. For info I have michelin pilot sport 3 255/35/19

What's your mpg like on those pressures do you know? I have the 2.0 TDI (170) and get 48mpg on a long drive at about 70.

My mpg has remained consistant with tyre pressures between 30 and 45,

I had settled on 36/33, but after checking tyres when they were taken off for winter they were very very slightly worn down a bit more in the middle of each tyre. This suggests they are still a litttle bit over inflated, I'm dropping a them one psi this year.

They feel fine, still hard feeling to me, but better on the motorway and they feel great when I'm having fun with the over-steer capabilities of my car.

My door card states 42 for the fronts, it is a joke at that pressure and will not drive in a straight line. Check the tyre websites, they suggest 36 for mine. My car is the 3.0ltr with 255/35/19 so smaller, lighter engines might need even lower presssures.