Is this a MOT fail- tyre.

johnnevett

Reaction score
Hi all,
Disaster has happened, I've kerbed my alloy. And to make it worse done this to the tyre

Is this a MOT failure? It's due in two week so need to order a new one if it is
Cheers

I'm not an expert or qualified but, I bought a car where a side wall was damaged like yours and had been glued. The car had just been through an MOT and there was an advisory stating that the 'tyre side wall had been repaired'. No instruction to do actually change it, just making the customer aware. My advice would be to go to an independent tyre garage who can advise and possibly glue it for you. The last thing you would want is a high speed failure.

Either seal/glue it or trim it off. Won't be an mot failure. The tester will be more interested in finding tread wear lower than 1.6mm...

As long as you can't see the cords it's not a problem. Pity the rim protector isn't a bit bigger. It's a lot bigger on an Goodyear Eagle F1 tyre

Reactions: xpoweruk
its a problem if you have a **** of a tester, i would pass it if i knew you and you would defiantly change it, but its a little hear and there just change it out for the sake of 70 quid .
uneven wear and all that
it probs wont fail for it
it's a serious chunk though, my condolences ;~)

£70? Is that a remould??..
If your tyre is shagged I agree a new one should be purchased. If you have bought an expensive Audi why put crap rubber on each corner. Budgets are for cheaper brands. I would and will always use at least a continental brand on a car that was £35K 3 yrs ago. False economy...

70 was an under mark but I've got 4x's coopper tyres for 75 a peice... life time guarntee any puncture any shape or form is covered ( saved me 200bucks well if you replace the tyres .... Which they do )