Audio Woes

Nuggitses

Reaction score
First off... "Hi Everyone!" I'm new to Audi ownership, having procured an A4 S-Line Avant (Quattro TDI 170) as a late Xmas present for myself (and sometimes the Wife). I have to say, as a previous 5 Series owner, I'm in love!

I did a fair bit of homework on this one before buying but one thing I did overlook, and it's not such a massive issue, is this particular one I've bought only has an Audi Concert unit, which really limits my options in terms of gadgets and whatnot. Seems the previous owner went all out-on everything except getting an MMI 2G or 3G unit.

What's really the most important thing to me is Bluetooth Audio (A2DP with AVRCP), steering wheel controlled, with a display of what's playing.

Navigation would be nice too.

I've done some research and it seems my closest options are:

a) Do a retrofit of the MMI for a 2G/3G version. I've read a fair bit about this and it's just not justifiable on basis of cost! Plus, any A2DP solution that depends on MMI doesn't integrate with steering controls/display anyway.

b) Suck it up and use 3.5mm input to my phone. Wires on display! Yuk!

c) One of these!

Has anybody fitted one of these before? Is it of a high quality? I'm thinking of using a Raspberry Pi, or maybe an old Android Tablet with a video out tucked away somewhere. I've even gone as far as considering buying a touchscreen overlay to place over the MMI display, hooked back to the Raspberry Pi.

The Xcarlink unit is video only, so I'd have to take an analogue audio output to the line-in of the Concert unit, which I'm assuming I can just "splice" into the existing cabling, as long as nothing's plugged in under the arm rest that should be fine, right?

Cheers!

Welcome to audi-sport.net. You will get info from the guys. Hope you enjoy the forum :) x

If the previous owner has put an AMI interface in the glovebox you could use a Viseoo Tune-to-Air Bluetooth Dongle.