Am I doing it right?

cppp

Reaction score
Hiya,

So im new to all this polishing stuff and im about to be getting my brand new audi a4 and was just wondering if these are the right steps to detail my new car.

1. After picking up car drive straight home.

2. Wash with Autoglym Bodywork Shampoo & for the wheels use AG Custom wheel cleaner.

3. Apply all 3 of the autoglym life shine (interior protectant, carbon shield and glass guard)
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Autoglym-...zing-Wax-Auto-glym-Car-Cleaning-/261426734748

4. Wait 24 hours, then again wash with Autoglym Bodywork Shampoo & for the wheels use AG Custom wheel cleaner.

5. Apply AG super resin polish buff it off then apply AG HD Wax, for the wheels I'll use the FinishKare 1000P.

Am I missing something or am I good to go?

Thank You!

Yup don't use AG super resin 'polish' your wax will not bond and consequently wash off first time you clean it.
Unless you need some problem with the paintwork fixing why would you use a polish on a new car. A polish IS ABRASIVE.
Clean the paint with something that leaves the surface clean of anything but the manufacturers paint then look to see if you have any swirls or fine scratches fix those then add a wax or as some companies call them a glaze.

Don't use wheel cleaner on a new car, the wheels don't need it, apart from many wheel cleaners are quite harsh acids or alkalis and will in time take the gloss off any paint and strip the plating off callipers etc. Best to wash frequently not letting your wheels get too dirty use a good quality car shampoo like Zymol clear which is PH neutral wont strip your wax off and hardly leaves any drying marks should you not have time to dry them
Look on detailing world as there are other places and other products (many far better) than those sold at Halfords.