2012 multitronic rattle

Beebrown

Reaction score
Hi, I'm new to the forum. I have searched this on the forum and couldn't find anything related to the newer multitronic gearbox so thought I'd post a thread.

I have a 62 plate A4 facelift model with a multitronic box. I have had the car about 3 weeks. I am a mechanic by trade, I understand the basic principles of a CVT but never had the misfortune to work on one.

Anyway... Just as I take up drive, in auto or reverse, at just maybe 5 mph/2000 rpm, I hear a slight rattle. I'm pretty sure it's from the gearbox as it doesn't do it in neutral in the same rev range. From my understanding of a CVT i can only come to the conclusion that it is the chain rattleing just as it takes up drive. This might be normal? It doesn't sound drastic, it's just a slight rattle noise, only heard with the windows down. Just wondering if anyone else has experienced this?

i wouldnt touch it and take it straight to audi and have it diagnosed and taken back to where you bought it from

I have done about 140,000 miles with CVT transmissions and never heard a rattle. Sometimes thuds if I go from forward to reverse too quickly, but never rattles.

Cheers for the replies. Wouldn't dream of stripping a CVT myself. I've had a good read up on the internals and would prefer to steer well clear. I am booked in at Audi Manchester early next month for the emissions recall and have rang to get them to take a look at the rattle too. Had it up on a lift today at work to confirm the origin of the noise before I throw £60+vat diagnostic charge on a rattleing heat shield... I'm pretty sure it's coming from the box.