Hi, need help please! A3 3.2 v6

Bash247

Reaction score
Hi, I'm new to this, so apologies if I'm doing it wrong. I've got a 2004 Audi a3 3.2. The car feels like it lacks power at low revs and it doesn't have the v6 sound at low/normal revs. You can only really hear it at high revs now. Help?!

First port of call for me would be to get it scanned for any codes.

Reactions: Bash247
These are my codes. Can you explain?

P0341
P0016
P0018
P0340

The following is taken from Ross-Tech:

16725/P0341/000833 - Camshaft Position Sensor (G40): Implausible Signal

Possible Symptoms

• Malfunction Indicator Light (MIL) active
Possible Causes
  • Wiring from/to Camshaft Position Sensor (G40) faulty
  • Camshaft Position Sensor (G40) faulty
  • Timing misaligned
Possible Solutions
  • Check Wiring from/to Camshaft Position Sensor (G40)
  • Check Camshaft Position Sensor (G40)
  • Check Timing
Special Notes
  • When found in 2008 and newer VW 2.0T engine with a timing chain (example; CCTA and CBFA), please see: TT 01-15-08 for information about the intake camshaft, adjuster bridge and spool valve.

16400/P0016/000022 - Bank 1: Camshaft Position Sensor (G40) / Engine Speed Sensor (G28): Incorrect Correlation

Possible Symptoms

• Malfunction Indicator Light (MIL) ON
Possible Causes
  • Timing Issue
  • Camshaft Adjuster
Possible Solutions
  • Check Setting of Timing Belt
  • Check Timing of Intake/Exhaust Cams
  • Check Cam Adjusters as per Repair Manual
Special Notes
  • North American Market (NAR) specific notes:
    • When found in 2009 Audi A4, A5 or Q5 with 3.2FSI AVE Engines, please see TSB 15-09-04.
    • When found in 2008 and newer VW 2.0T engine with a timing chain (example; CCTA and CBFA), please see:
General notes

• On engines with chain driven intake camshaft(s), but belt driven exhaust camshaft(s), verify the number of chain roller links between the intake and exhaust camshafts is correct. Click on thumbnail to enlarge: