Door locks

L

Lee Pritchard

Hi guys.

I’m very new at this so go easy on me please.

I have an Audi A3 57 plate. 1.8 TFSI S LINE.

My passenger front door will not unlock from the fob but works perfectly when opened from inside.

Boot will not open from the pressure button but ok with the fob.

My brake lights randomly won’t work and warning on dash and then work again.

Auto door lock works but light does not show on door panel.

What do I need to do to fix it.

First thing I would do would be to pull back the concertina grommets by the doors and for the boot to see if there are any broken wires.
Assuming you have a decent battery in the fob (the little red light shows on the fob if the battery is OK) I think the door lock is on the way out. The next stage is the inside handle will not work, then you are in real trouble. The puddle light not working is definitely related to the door lock. It sounds like the boot lock is on the way out too.
With the brake light, when it is playing up get someone to check that all lights are working. If none are working it could be the brake light switch.

Reactions: Lee Pritchard
Thanks.

I have tried looking for the brake light switch but can’t find one on the brake pedal. I will check all these other options out.

Good advice posted so far and not much to add , if it is the door lock mechanism that is faulty (a very common problem with the A3 and Golf etc that share the same parts) then get it fixed sooner rather than later, if it fails totally in the door closed position then you have to butcher the door card panel to open the door and get the lock out!
The offside rear lock on my own car failed about a month ago and it’s an easy fix , about 30 mins to replace , although you will need or have access to a VCDS cable to ensure the new lock has the same software programming as the old one.