Which spark plug for E85

FlyingScozzies

Reaction score
Hi everyone.

I've been surfing the threads on this forum for 12 months or so, and it's been interesting reading. I think that I've learned a lot. Thanks particularly to Jardo, who's 'Must Do Modifications ,,,' thread was my map, and Prawn, who's build thread fuels the dream.

So, this is my first 'real' post, and I'm looking for help.
Car is an A3 with the AGU engine. It's got most of the mod's listed by Jardo's thread, but with a 'Mamba 9-11 GTX K04 Pro' hybrid turbo. The tune is a local (Sydney) tune by Ed at Quattro Sport, fueled by E85.

So, I was at a track day last weekend and replaced the plugs the day before with NGK BKR7E, in place of the Bosch FR7LDC plugs that had been there since before the turbo and tune were installed. I installed the BKR7E as I thought that they were a cooler plug, that would make a difference with the higher boost (21 psi peak).

Anyway, with no other changes except the plugs:
  • The new NGK plugs suffered from a little miss-fire under load down low, but seemed to make a very linear power delivery through to red-line from around 3000 rpm. I was a bit ******-off at the miss-fire with the new plugs, even though the car was running faster than ever before. I was doing about 120 kmh at the top of a fairly steep hill on the track (sounds slow but it's a steep short hill that I could only manage 100 kmh up before). The car felt very drive-able with a 'fat' power delivery.

• Obviously the miss-fire down low would be slowing me down I thought, so I put the old Bosch plugs back in to see if the car was faster. The engine was very different with the old Bosch plugs in. The power delivery appeared later, with a definite ramp up in power from about 3500 rpm up to strong power at 4500 rpm going through to red-line. Much more 'peaky' and fun to drive. Funny thing was that I was still getting the same speed at the top of the hill so I'm guessing similar top end power. No miss-fire either.