Just involved in car accident - Pictures

CanadaA3wales

Canadian living in South Wales - Audi A3 8V 150BHP
Reaction score
Well I have just written off my much loved golf where a third part came out of a side road in 2019.

As I always wanted a A3 I looked far and wide and got my baby I have now and have put a lot of money into it.

I was driving down a main road in a Tesco car park and some guy just pulled out into my path.

He kept saying I was going way over 5mph, not sure if I was. I always drive slow enough for pedestrians, but unsure about this 5mph law, I think that's just a guide as whilst the car park is private property, it is still covered under the RTA act. I have been working in car claims for 15 years, but never dealt with an argument about car parking speed. He will never be able to prove it either way, as if he knew I was speeding, he seen me, so why did he pull out? Cant prove speed unless I get prosecuted for speed at the same time of the accident, which never happens, or someone has CCTV showing I was doing a stupid speed, but I wasn't. Its not like I was going 50mph in a car park.

I need a new grill which I have just bought, and my insurance will not cover it as its a modification, so will have to go after the third party insurer directly, also I chipped my car, so want the money back for that if my car is a total loss.

I think its a borderline total loss, it needs a new bumper, grill, bonnet and damage to the cross member which I can see due to my grill being shattered into a thousand pieces, I had to clean up Tesco car park as it was everywhere.

I am getting a 2020 Mini Cooper S Convertible as a replacement as my car is not road legal, I have never driven a convertible, so my kids will get a kick out of that, and I live on the beach, so will be very fitting.

Enjoy the pictures.

Attachments

• 20220324_125312.jpg
    20220324_125312.jpg
    1.2 MB · Views: 160
  • 20220324_125256.jpg
    20220324_125256.jpg
    956.7 KB · Views: 149