Some of the engine work i've been doing: (1.9TDi)

evomaster3000

Reaction score
Well apart from tinkering with the install, since i'm now studying a motorsport degree, i now have more knowledge of engines and turbo's etc, so I've been intending to do a head re-build on the audi, so i set about it late last year.

Started by stripping the turbo and manifolds off for a de-coke and clean out the vanes on the turbo.

Then went on an removed the head and stripped it, replaced valve stem seals, cleaned all the carbon from the valves and re-lapped the valves, De-coked all the oil n **** from the ports! and there was a fair bit, loads on the inlet!

Once all cleaned out set about giving it a clean and some colour!

Head with valves re-fitted n re-lapped ready to be built back up:
14022009126.jpg

Complete head with turbo n cat, intake and EGR fitted:
14022009128.jpg

14022009130.jpg

14022009131.jpg

Now back to the car to clean the block for new head gasket:
14022009132.jpg

14022009133.jpg

As you can see doing the head is a pig of a job on the A6 as the whole front end needs to be removed!
14022009134.jpg

New water pump fitted:
15022009138.jpg

May aswell get done as it cost £23 for a genuine new one and if it goes i'm not doin this job again so for £23 no point messing, get a new one even though the old one is fine.

Head re-fitted and everything all piped back up. New Hydraulic lifters (some may have noticed my car sounding a little tappy - this should fix it!) Camshaft fitted and head all torqued up with new bolts.
15022009139.jpg

15022009137.jpg

Thats how she sits at the moment, just need a mechanic to come and time her up properly and then fire her up!

evo lovely looking job so far good luck to you

Nice piece of work but why on the same ocassion you didn't swap turbo for GT17 from AWX/AVF? Makes quite significant difference along with good chiptuning.... Driveability is a lot better.