• Total voters

Boydie

S3 8V DSG
VCDS Map User
Reaction score
Website
www.reallymeansounds.com
Guys,

I am getting a bit of stick on my local forum for not using super all the time in the S3 - should this be the case?

The sticker on the petrol cap reads 98/95 so I presume that means preferabley 98ron but normal unleaded is ok?

Bare in mind this is my first week owning the S3 so funds are slightly low and I have been driving derv for the past 6 years!

Two good mates drive a remapped GTI and remapped Leon Cupra (s3 engine) and both run unleaded fine and dandy

What are you lot using and why?

Nothing but super mate, you owe it to your car :)

As per wizbit - nothing but super.
It says in the manual that the engine was designed around using super, but it will perform on unleaded.
Super gives you better performance and better economy (it did on my old 8L S3 anyway - 30 miles per tank more) and if you are rempapping that is deffo designed around super unleaded.

Question - you spend all your hard earned on a performance hatchback, only to cut corners on fuel.... tut, tut ;)

Seriously though mate, I would only put 98+ Octane in the tank if I were you. :)

it will run ok on 95RON but the engine will know and will cut down on power, 98ron or more, shell v power is the best, i always use it, even tho i dont have an s3. its much more refined than normal 95ron and has cleaning agents in it. bp 102ron is also very good but difficult to get hold of, and expensive!

edit: and as jamie said, you spend all your hard earned cash on a high performance car when you give it bog standard fuel. i only use shell v-power as it is good stuff, i dont go to tescos to get my fuel, also get good points on v-power club card!

Last edited:
mainly because i use my shell card, but shell or bp have cleaning agents in it and i think the stuff you get from the smaller garages like 'jet don't provide such refined fuels, not sure about tescos but i still don't use their fuel