over boosting help!

miniturhero

Reaction score
Hi everyone I have a 2001 s3 and it is standard as far as im aware and I have recently installed a boost gauge and be it not the best but a gauge none the less, I have tried to find a thread to try and answer my question but all the threads I have found are of similar problems but on a mapped engine. The problem is that I think im well over boosting , when I put my foot down I hit around 20-22 psi and I know it should drop down but it dosnt always and if it does it still only drops to 18psi! I have gone through a few threads and found that most peoples boost on a standard engine is around 8-10 psi. Is there anything I can check or change to cure my problem as im new to audi and this is my first s3 .

Cheers.

I thought I might add that if you go to my other thread on installing my boost gauge you can see which one it is and I know its not great and it might be slightly out but I dont think it could be that far out.

I believe AVLO has a similar boost issue on his standard engine.

Where have you read 8-10psi?

Have you tried unplugging the N75 (electrically) yet? if not do that.. you should see 0.5 bar (7-8psi)... if not then check the pipework to the N75..

Also... have you done any work on the car recently?

What makes you think its not mapped? its behaving like it is... normally if you get over boost it will drop into limp mode (again around 7-8psi)...

Have you scanned for fault codes yet?

<tuffty/>

I believe AVLO has a similar boost issue on his standard engine.

Where have you read 8-10psi?

I have read it on some threads on here I think or maybe another forums I will try and find the thread

Have you tried unplugging the N75 (electrically) yet? if not do that.. you should see 0.5 bar (7-8psi)... if not then check the pipework to the N75..

Also... have you done any work on the car recently?