Advice on wheels/spacers.

AdamKing

Reaction score
I recently got some genuine 18" RS6 alloys. Before I fit them I want to get some spacers. I'm new to spacers so I would rather get some advice before I buy some. So sorry if some of the questions seem really stupid
icon7.png

I understand that the spacers bolt onto the car and the wheels bolt onto the spacers. But will I need to buy longer wheel nuts or will the ones from my old wheels be fine? They were the standard 17" alloys that come with the S3.

Also what size would people recommend. I've heard that 15mm on the front and 20mm on the back looks good.

Thanks

If they're genuine RS6 rims they'll probably have quite a low offset as they are giving you a fair bit of poke, might not need spaces...

Do you know the width and offset? Should be written on the inside. . . Width is J number (maybe 8J or 9J) and offset ET (maybe ET35 or something)

Either way it would be worth checking what they look like on the car first then deciding how much you want to space them out by... And yes, you would need longer bolts for anything more that 5mm or so

On the inside of the alloy it says 7.5Jx18H2 ET54.

They usually come with the bolts needed. If you get 20mm they will likely bolt on. Use the supplied bolts to bolt the spacer to the hub then your oem bolts to bolt the wheel onto the spacer. 15mm are likely to need longer bolts which go through the wheel and spacer into the hub. I doubt you need longer bolts with bolt ons as they may go through the back of the hub and hit things.

On a side note dont buy cheap. I bought some delta mics spacers off ebay. Fitted them the same time as my new wheels, brakes and coilovers. My car developed a terrible wheel wobble. I spent a fortune trying to sort what the wobble was and of course it was the cheap spacers. Also read about the bolts supplied with delta mics spacers snapping. Avoid!!!

Also always spin the wheel gently by hand after fitting spacers incase anything does hit.