S3 Induction Choices?

Lovegroover

Reaction score
I have read extensively through the masses of discussions on here about leaving the induction alone on the S3. With most reccomendations pointing toward extra cold air feeds for the oem box.
Therefore should i:

1. I have proposed chopping up the standard air box and putting a large diameter cold air feed into the bottom. Has anyone else done this? and if so what was the sound like (i must admit to smiling slightly at the wooshh and chatter of the recirc viper - don't shoot me.) I would obviously retain the oem filter, but would just like a bit more noise.

2. Seeings as i am an Engineer at a sheet metal factory it is possible i could get a custom enclosure (insulated aswell) made up to house a K&N style filter - i could then feed this with the oem and a custom cold air feed.
Obviously there are the MAF issues with a cone filter, but disregarding this anyone tried this idea before?

3. Sod the hassle and if i'm willing to risk it just put a BMC or alike on.

Sorry for the essay,
Cheers - Joe

Id go for cold air feed aswell- i had the same question a while ago and came to the same conclusion. Heard that the replacement filters contminate the maf sensor too. I havent yet done mine but i will let you know when i do. Let me know how it goes if you go for it before me.

Cheers
Dave.

Will keep you posted as to what I do and what effect it has. Does anyone know if there is more induction noise etc with a larger cold air feed, and also anyone know how much a replacement airbox is if it all goes t*ts up – God forbid.

I must admit I do pine a bit more induction noisey-ness, not too much though, and not at the price of reliability.