Brakes feel odd

Wack0jack0

Reaction score
Is anyone else out there disappointed with the breaks or actually thinking there is something wrong?
I have no previous experience of rs3’s but have a carbon edition standard non ceramics but am finding the breaks pretty poor. It’s almost like a feeling of I push and they aren’t biting very hard, the pedal feels shallow and dead, no progression the harder I press!
Just me?

Funnily enough mines started making that low speed ‘hum’ going from forwards to reverse and vice versa

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

On an rs3, they need 500-1k imho, what was your last car, brake setup?

Reactions: 8YARWY
My previous 8V with new Reylands / DBA pads was a classic example of bedding in.

I fitted them and after 500 miles was beginning to doubt the quality of the pads, they just didn’t haul the car up quickly enough or have a great pedal feel.

Persevered until over 1k miles on the setup , the difference was staggering, they were miles better than the DS2500 they replaced.

22863eac192cc61573b5b6368e046a81.jpg

Reactions: Jassyo06 and Wack0jack0
Funnily enough mines started making that low speed ‘hum’ going from forwards to reverse and vice versa

Mine does that, but only when I reverse onto the drive on the turn.

As for performance. Only stood on them maybe 10 times, but nearing 1000 miles they really started to bite. Can't fault them at all.

One brake related thing I have noticed compared to my Golf R,
If I was going along in adaptive cruise and needed to brake (adaptive cruise can sometimes leave braking a little late especially down hill) with the Golf it felt like I was adding to the brake pressure already there so a delicate foot was required whereas in the RS3 the ‘foot’ pressure appears normal

As for performance. Only stood on them maybe 10 times, but nearing 1000 miles they really started to bite. Can't fault them at all.

Servo is totally different now on the 8Y.

I did post a PDF on it a while back.