S3 Overheating HELP!

mohammedzohaib

Reaction score
Hi,

Be gentle as im a newbie

My audi s3 2012 has started to over heat but only on idle. The temp reaches 110 before the fans kick in. I have plugged it into vagcom and there are no errors i have also done a output test on HVAC and ran the fan control module and both fans kick in but if i run the cooling fan it doesnt work. Now obviously you would say the cooling fan not working right? I then turned the car off and let it cool down. The next day i fired her up and let her warm up to 90c plugged her back in vag and did a measuring block test on the ENGINE section of vag. I watched the coolant temp rise to 103c and the cooling fan kicked in and dropped the temp. This is really confusing are they working or are they not its driving me mad. What could the problem be.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

How long does it take for it to reach a 100 degrees?

How long does it take for it to reach a 100 degrees?

If i start it up from cold start it take about 15mins to hit 100 but if i drive it about sometimes its already on high 100s like today i only went to town did a short trip and it was already on 107

Thermostat stuck closed maybe? Feel the comment pipes to check if they are all hot

Thermostat stuck closed maybe? Feel the comment pipes to check if they are all hot

Ive checked the radiator pipes top and bottom and they are warm. Its driving me mad just constantly does it. Once it hits a certain temp the high speed fans kick in at 117c brings the car back to 90 but slowly rising in 10mins on idle. Will it be the thermostat?

Sounds to me like a thermostat or some sort of blockage is preventing coolant from circulating correctly. The fact the the pipes are warm does not mean that they are fine as it could just be ambient heat warming them up from outside rather than coolant inside. Worth a check.